Skip to content

It just sounds gross

August 4, 2009

I don’t blame the Omnivore on this one.  It just sounds gross: zucchini custard.

But it is anything but gross.  Or I wouldn’t have eaten half of it, some of it not even reheated, at 2am last night.  What’s so phenomenal about this dish is the texture.  Who knew veggies could be so creamy? Yes.  It has a delicious mouthfeel.

But it photographs like poop.  Well, actually, bloggers more patient than yours truly, with more investment into simple supplies like a light box than yours truly, probably wouldn’t have had much of a problem with the photo shoot.  Besides, you don’t read this blog for the photos, right?

IMGP5247

I adapted this recipe from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone.  The author, Deborah Madison, suggests this recipe as a way to incorporate leftover cooked vegetables into a new dish.  Veggies suggested: cooked spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, corn.

Vegetable Custard
Preheat oven to 350* and butter 1 qt souffle dish or six 1-c ramekins.

1 1/2 cups milk
3 whole eggs or 4 egg whites
salt and pepper
2 cups shredded zucchini, squeezed of all excess moisture *do not skip/scrimp/slip*
1/2 cup grated cheese (cheddar, gouda, swiss)
2 T fresh parmesan cheese

Whisk milk and eggs together until very smooth.  Add the remaining ingredients.  Pour into prepared dish.  Set into another pan filled with near-boiling water (enough to come halfway up the souffle dish).  Bake until custard is set and a knife inserted in the center comes out cleanly; 40-50 minutes (25 min for the ramekins).  Cool 5 minutes before serving.

IMGP5236

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 6:31 pm

    Mmmm, I may have to borrow this recipe for my garden series!! I have zucchini coming out of my ears. This sounds great

  2. Brianna & Dustin permalink
    August 4, 2009 6:52 pm

    Yum!! My mom makes something similar to this and it’s one of my favorite veggie side dishes. Comfort food!! I wish our stupid plant had produced more than 1 zucchini so I could make this!

  3. August 4, 2009 7:22 pm

    mmmm this doesn’t sound gross at all – I can’t wait to try it!

  4. August 4, 2009 10:39 pm

    Deborah Madison is such a genius. I feel like the best foods (lasagna, enchiladas, this…) are always kind of tricky to photograph. I definitely want to try this!

  5. ghweiss permalink
    August 10, 2009 9:38 am

    Looks interesting, I bet cauliflower would be a nice way to keep in all white for a more pleasing visual effect.

  6. JQBancroft permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:52 pm

    Hey, this is make_a_statement from the h&f board. I’m just getting into your blog, and this recipe looks amazing! What cheese did you use for the custard? And is it 2 cups shredded zucchini before or after pressing out the liquid? I have about 3 cups shredded zuchini I can’t wait to use up with this recipe!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      June 3, 2010 9:56 am

      Hey, sorry I was not more specific in this recipe. Squeeze the zucchini before measuring cups. I used cheddar and it was great! Enjoy

Leave a Reply

