Skip to content

Sushi for 2

August 8, 2009

As you may or may not remember (quick, get out those notecards you made on Branny’s life and the Omnivore’s preferences!), the Omnivore does not like sushi. But that didn’t stop me from making a sushi dessert that I knew he would enjoy:
IMGP5185

May I present to you Dessert Sushi.  I did not come up with this idea.  I have no idea who created the concept first, although many versions use sweetened rice with fruit instead of the sugar overload I present here.  I developed this recipe because I knew that rice in the form of dessert would not fare well with the old Omnivore.

This recipe is best served the day it is made.  Upon extended refrigeration, the powdered sugar filling may become crumby.  Luckily, it comes together in a snap.

But I doubt you’ll be making this recipe.  In fact, I dare you to make this recipe.  But I still don’t think you will.  I think you’ll look at my blog post, then run off to google to find another sushi dessert recipe you prefer.  Tisk tisk tisk.  Trust, dear reader, trust.

The problem you will find in the ingredient list is the reference to Mashed Potato Candy. It tastes nothing like potatoes.  Be brave.

Ingredients
Fruit roll ups
gummy worms or twizzlers
Potato Candy (recipe below)

4 T cooled mashed potato
1 tablespoon smartbutter, butter, or margarine
1 teaspoon vanilla
3.5 cups confectioners’ sugar

For the mashed potato, I used 3 tablespoons of instant potato flakes + water.  I’ve used both authentic potatoes and freakily-shelf-stable-potato-flakes-that-I-am-embarassed-to-own for potato candy and both are just fine!

Mix together potato, butter, & vanilla.  Add enough confectioners’ sugar to make a stiff dough.  No need for big guns here – just use a fork and a glass bowl.

Unwrap a fruit roll up and press mashed potato candy into a thin layer ontop of the candy.  Don’t go overboard here.  Place two gummy worms near the end of the rollup closest to you.  Roll candy into a “log.”  Slice with a very sharp knife.

IMGP5182

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    August 8, 2009 9:18 am

    Super cute! Love it!

  2. August 8, 2009 9:46 am

    Very cute idea!

  3. August 8, 2009 11:35 am

    Very cute! I am obsessed with dessert sushi 🙂

Leave a Reply

