Skip to content

No more chocolate chip cookies on my grocery list

August 10, 2009

I ran across the beginnings of the grocery list the other day, and I thought I’d share with you:

IMGP4655The third-grade-boyish handwriting is yours truly.

Honestly, this item “peach cereal” has been appearing on the grocery list pretty regularly these days.  And I keep ignoring it.  And I just shuffle it to the next week’s list to keep the Omnivore happy.

The dashes and marks below the cereal is the Omnivore’s handwriting.  Yes.  We use our own version of a written Morse code via which we communicate with one another.  How efficient.

Anyway, the 2nd line on this grocery list is actually asking for Sweet n Low, Equal, or Splenda (whichever is cheaper).

Now, philosophy and/or math dorks represent: leave a comment written in English diction and syntax explaining how on earth I came to conclude that the Omnivore was out of sweetner for his coffee.

Another item, although never written “in code,” that the Omnivore often suggests is Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I frequently ignore that request as well.  Not because he won’t actually eat the cookies (he will, believe me, he will).  But because I want to make cookies that he loves from scratch in my very own home.

I tried these.  They were chewy and brown sugary and just fine to most cookie eaters.  But not the Omnivore.

And I tried these double chocolate chip cookies – but ended up taking them to work because he just wasn’t devouring them like he does his beloved Famous Amos cookies.

And then I tried these, a recipe by Martha Stewart claiming to be crunchy.  This recipe was just messed up.  It called for water to be added to the dough.  I should have known better.  And Bridget actually did know better (as revealed in the comment at the end of that post):

bridget (11:45:23) :

It never hurts to bring the eggs to room temperature when you make cookies like this. It helps the mixture emulsify when all of the ingredients are the same temperature. Cookie dough is an emulsification because butter is mostly fat and eggs are mostly water, so they don’t inherently like to mix. That being said, it isn’t a big deal.

Your batter wasn’t curdled because the butter solidified due to the cold. It curdled because it wasn’t emulsified; the fat and the liquid separated. It isn’t generally a big deal though. A lot of cake recipes look curdled before the dry ingredients are added.

Honestly, this is just a weird, weird recipe. Water in cookies is gross.

So, being that Bridget clearly knew what she was talking about, I decided to take her very own recipe for a whirl.

IMGP5275

The result?  I can stop here.  The Omnivore is happy.  I’m happy.  8 full minutes at 375* and let them cool on the stone.  Marvelous.  Can be sliced and baked.  Can be ready anytime.  Can remove Chocolate chip cookies from my grocery list.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
2¼ cups AP flour
1 teaspoon table salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
¼ cup sugar
1¼ cups brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Adjust an oven rack to the middle position. Heat the oven to 375F.  Combine the flour, salt, and baking soda.

In the stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment beat the butter until creamy.  Add the sugars and beat on medium speed until fluffy.  Add the eggs, one a time, mixing for one minute after each addition. Add the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the flour, mixing just until almost combined. Add the chocolate chips and pulse the mixer on low speed until the chips are evenly and the flour is incorporated.

Roll into a log in saran wrap and chill.  (Although Bridget’s original recipe says it is fine to drop by rounded spoonfuls onto a baking sheet and bake right away).

IMGP5256Please refrain from making comments about my log.

Slice into 1/4″ rounds and bake in a preheated oven for 8 minutes.  Then let cool on stone.  Keep oven on, because if you are anything like the Omnivore, you’ll be making a second batch after the 1st batch cools.

IMGP5278


5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 12:06 pm

    glad you finally found IT!

  2. August 10, 2009 12:32 pm

    Hehee! Reading that comment is weird for me, because I feel like I half-explained it. I’m guessing I was trying not to go on and on about emulsions, which actually really fascinate me.

    So glad he’s finally happy! Now on to scones! 😉

  3. August 10, 2009 1:07 pm

    MMM Branny these look great! I do not know how I missed them over on Bridget’s blog! I am defiantly going to have to try these….I think today!

Trackbacks

  1. While you were sleeping… « Branny Boils Over
  2. I’m the healthy eater « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

