Skip to content

A new kind of veggie burger

August 17, 2009

About 2.5 years ago, I scribbled down a recipe for a new kind of veggie burger.  What struck me about this certain recipe was that it in no way attempted to imitate a hamburger, chicken patty, or steak sandwich.

It was a true veggie burger – not a “wow, this looks like meat but tastes like CRAP!” hamburger-substitute.

One would think I’d make the recipe immediately.  Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.  You see, it was a veggie burger.  Meaning, it was made of all shredded vegetables.  How could this legitimately stand between two slabs of bread?

I feared biting into a disappointing latke-like-patty.  Delicious on its own, yes, but just not appropriate on a hamburger bun.  So, I didn’t make it.

IMGP5457Flashforward to summer 2009, and Erin brought a restaurant review to my attention via Twitter.  Apparently, she read this review, and thought of me.

In Erin’s mind: beets + meat substitutes + the theme of “I know *I* wouldn’t eat that = Branny.

Bravo!

So, I finally got the courage to create the beet burger.  And I’ve made 3 batches in the span of 10 days (although, admittedly, that high frequency *might* have been because the Omnivore as out of town and I was determined not to go grocery shopping).

Beet Burgers (6-8 patties, adapted from here)
2 cups finely grated beets
1/2 medium onion, finely grated
2 cloves garlic, grated
1/2 cup beans (pinto or garbanzo)
1 T soy sauce
2/3 cup cooked brown rice
1 beaten egg
1/2 cup grated cheese (recommended, cheddar)
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1-2 T bread crumbs as needed to form patties

Peel beets and shred on the finest setting in your food processor.  Shred onions, garlic, and cheese.  I’ve been able to eyeball measurements here, so I just shred everything at once.  Until you get a feel for the recipe, it is best to measure each individual ingredient.  Force beans through food processor fitted with shredding blade.

Remove all shredded ingredients from food processor and place in a large bowl.  Fold in cooked rice, shredded cheese, and sesame seeds.  Incorporate beaten egg and breadcrumbs.

IMGP5445Mixture will be somewhat loose, but when placed on a greased baking pan, will hold its shape.

Bake at 350* for 30 minutes. I enjoyed my burger most when slathered with a helping of dijon mustard and served with lettuce on my whole wheat bread.  Feel free to add a layer of cheese, tomato, and lettuce to your own in your attempt to emulate a beef burger.

IMGP5476

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 9:59 am

    Yippe-Kai-Yai-YAY! I’m glad you made it, maybe one day I’ll get the courage to do it too!

Leave a Reply

