Skip to content

While you were sleeping…

August 22, 2009

Dear Omnivore,

After dinner, when your belly was full with yet another satisfying meal, you took a nap.   I, on the other hand, started researching.

No, not the kind of researching I did my senior year in college, when I spent far too many nights in the biology basement laboratory with my little friends mice.

It was the kind of research that keeps you coming back for more.  You see, you probably don’t remember, but you mentioned at the end of dinner something about going out for dessert.

And I thought to myself,

“Oh no he didn’t just mentioned leaving this house on Friday night to go get some storebought cookies.  If he wants cookies, I will MAKE him cookies.  Keep my man at home.  Ain’t no cashier gonna give my man what he wants.  So there.”

And so I started googling.

And searching blogs.

And thumbing through cookbooks.

And I settled on these cookies.  And, my dearest Omnivore, you loved them.  Better than the chocolate chip cookies I made you last week.  And although I was thrilled to hear that, I was also somewhat sad.  Because I worked too damn hard on the traditional chocolate chip cookie for you.  But it is okay.  I’ll forgive you.

cookies

Giant Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sugar Cookies (14-16 cookies, adapted from here)

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter (unsalted, soft)
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1 large egg
1 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla
8 oz chocolate chips (semi-sweet)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl.

Place 1 stick of butter and sugar into a mixing bowl with paddle attachment. Mix on medium-high until pale and fluffy. Mix in the second stick of butter. Add the egg and the vanilla and mix until creamy. Reduce speed to low.  Add flour and mix until just combined.  Incorporate chocolate chips.

Use 2 1/2-inch ice cream or cookie scoop and drop batter onto cookie sheet, spacing each cookie about 2″ apart.

Bake 18-20 minutes.  Let cool on cookie sheet for 3-5 minutes, then cool on wire racks.

IMGP5706

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 12:16 pm

    These look delicious, SO much better than store bought 🙂

Leave a Reply

