Skip to content

Vegetable Quinoa Stew

August 24, 2009

I need to make this habit.  Well, make this concept a habit.  Because this event didn’t turn out as planned.

You know my husband eats meat, right?  And so that sort of complicates leftovers, our most favorite item to take to work for lunch.  There could be plenty of meat leftover but no side dishes, or tons of side dishes but no real main course, or enough for him but not for her.  Or enough for her and not for him.  Well, that last part isn’t true.  I always give the Omnivore first dibs at the leftovers.  He’s the first to cave at eat out for lunch.  Me?  I’ll make do.

What would simplify things is if I made a batch of some delicious one-dish-wonder that I could take to work throughout the week.  I tried that this past week with this vegetable quinoa stew.  It is full of veggies, protein, and feel-good nutrients.

I estimated that I made 4 servings of the meal.  I ate 1 for dinner.  And then I ate 1 serving as I was putting away leftovers.  Then I woke up in the middle of the night and ate 1 serving more.  So, really, I only had one serving for lunches throughout the week.

IMGP5691

Do I really have to tell you I liked this recipe?  It reheated great.  And I am ashamed to say that I know this from experience: it is tasty cold.  It is healthy.  It will make your coworkers jealous.

Vegetable Quinoa Stew with a Morroccan Flair (4 servings)
1 eggplant, diced into 1″ cubes
1 can diced tomatoes
1 cup chick peas
1/3 cup quinoa
1 small-medium onion, diced
1 zucchini, sliced into half moons
1 bell pepper, diced
1 carrot, diced
1/4 c raisins
3/4 t cinnamon
3/4 t curry
3/4 t cardamom
1/4 t salt
2 cups water or broth

plain yogurt or leftover cucumber sauce
scallions

Dice eggplant and place in a collander.  Toss with a few heavy sprinklings of salt and let drain 20-30 minutes.  Rinse thoroughly.  Saute onion, carrot, and bell pepper until they begin to soften.  Add spices and cook 1-2 minutes.  Add eggplant and cook until all veggies begin to soften and show color.

Add can of tomatoes, raisins, zucchini, chick peas, and remaining amount of water.  Thoroughly rinse quinoa and add to the mix.  Bring pot to a simmer and cook 20-30 minutes until most of the water has evaporated and the quinoa has sprung.  (I am copyrighting the term “quinoa” has sprung.  Yep.  That’s exactly what it does when it is thoroughly cooked and you heard it here, first, ladies and gentleman.  Yeah, I said gentleman.  Only 1 man reads this blog.  Hi dad!)

Garnish with yogurt and scallions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 11:16 pm

    This looks great! And I love that your Dad reads your blog! How sweet!

Leave a Reply

