Skip to content

This is why I am not a professional chef

August 26, 2009

When I run across recipes like this one, I am reminded why I am not a professional cook (chef?).  It isn’t the lust for being in the kitchen nor is it the long and late hours that chefs keeps me from pursuing this career.  I’ve got the lust and I can handle late hours (I think).

What’s holding me back is my inability to combine seemingly mismatched ingredients to create one hell of a meal.  *sigh*  But I suppose that’s why cookbooks exist.

IMGP5785Black eyed peas, basil, tomato.  Yes.  That all makes sense.  Scallions, too.  I can buy that.  What impressed me was the addition of pineapple.  But again, not *too* oddball.  But then you must acknowledge the spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, black pepper, hot sauce.

I guess I shouldn’t be so blown away.  Afterall, one of my favorite recipes combines pineapple and hotsauce with peanut butter.  But still.  Cinnamon!?

This side dish was great.  Just so flavorful and unique.  I could eat it with tortilla chips or a fork.  Breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Black Eyed Pea Salad with Tomato and Pineapple (6 side dish servings, adapted Savannah Seasons)

2 T vegetable oil
1/4 t freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 t ground cinnamon
1/2 t freshly cracked black pepper
1 t hot pepper sauce
2 cups black eyed peas (or 1 can)
1/4 cup minced fresh basil
1/2 chopped green onion
2 cups garden fresh tomatoes, chopped in 1/2″ dice
1 cup fresh pineapple, chopped in 1/4″ dice
1 medium cucumber, peeled and diced

In a small skillet, warm the oil and add nutmeg, cinnamon, and pepper.  Simmer for 2 minutes to flavor the oil.  Add the hot pepper sauce.  Pour combination over black eyed peas.  Toss.  Add the remaining ingredients and serve.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2009 4:13 pm

    Don’t worry, I couldn’t put those together either! Looks delicious though!

  2. September 1, 2009 11:57 am

    What a combination and unique recipes make it even more fun to try making!

  3. Frank permalink
    September 7, 2009 7:54 pm

    I have had your cooking and it puts a number of “chefs” to shame!!! So keep up the matching ingredients! 🙂

  4. Chris permalink
    September 17, 2009 1:51 pm

    You never know – some day you might just come up with the winning combo that takes the food world by storm! Congrats for trying though – many people wouldn’t dare to think outside the box.

Leave a Reply

