Skip to content

Zucchini Waffles

September 1, 2009

I must admit.  This recipe required a creative delivery.  The Omnivore was having a bad day and he hopefully asked me the question, “What’s for dinner?”

I am sure he wanted me to respond, “Let’s go out, honey, and get some chicken wings, cheesy pizza, and baby back ribs.”

But I didn’t.  I swallowed hard, though, because I knew the last thing the Omnivore was prepared to have for dinner was a waffle. And so I started out with a safe subject: sausage.  And threw in a side of cornbread. He bought it.

But I had to disclose soon thereafter that the said cornbread would be cooked in a waffle iron. And that’s when the Omnivore mentioned the maple syrup.

NO!  This is not breakfast for dinner, people.  This is dinner.  Hearty, savory, and healthy dinner.  I slowly reiterated the word corn bread and mumbled some pathetic excuse about how it was too hot to turn on the oven to bake the cornbread so I figured I’d just make it in the waffle iron.  And then I exited stage right.

waffleTurns out, he loved the waffles.  And the beans that adorned them.  He had not-a-clue that the waffles contained the dreaded zucchini.  And instead of the deliciously grilled vegetable that accompanied my plate, he ate some meat product of ambiguous origin.

His only critique of the meal was the request for the addition of something crunchy, perhaps bacon.

Zucchini Corn Waffles (eight 4″ers, adapted from Cooking Light)
1 c AP flour
1/4 c corn meal
1 1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t dried basil
1/4 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1/8 t pepper
1 c buttermilk
1 c shredded zucchini
1/2 c cream style corn
1/3 cup sliced green onions
1 large egg, lightly beaten

Combine flour with next 5 ingredients.  Combine buttermilk and next 5 ingredients.  Incorporate wet and dry.  Coat waffle iron with nonstick spray and spoon 1/3 batter per 4″ iron.  Cook 5-6 minutes until steaming stops.

Pinto-Tomato-Topping
1 tomato, diced
1 cup pinto beans
1/2 cup sweet corn
1 t chili powder
1/4 t cumin
1/4 cup sliced scallions

Saute tomato in spices until tomato begins to break down.  Add pinto beans and sweet corn and simmer until warm throughout.  Adorn waffles with mixture and garnish with scallions.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 12:35 pm

    Branny, these look delish. I can’t wait to try them!

  2. September 1, 2009 5:30 pm

    Yum, they look great!!! Yet another great zucchini dish Branny!

  3. September 1, 2009 7:37 pm

    I love the idea of using the waffle iron for a savory meal!

  4. September 2, 2009 9:53 am

    Love the use of zucchini in this!!

  5. wendypchef permalink
    September 2, 2009 2:29 pm

    Looks great! My husband’s favorite quote is “honey, this is good, but it would be even better with some chicken” when he realizes (usually halfway through dinner) that there is no meat. I bet he’d suggest the addition of bacon though with this dish too. I might need to try them thar waffles.

  6. September 3, 2009 12:30 am

    You are always making me think out side the box! You rock!

  7. The 'Vore permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:29 am

    Zucchini. Beets. Recycled, hidden, disguised in unimaginable ways. Yet, it really is all good. I wonder if she’ll make up something with both beets and zucchini….. AH! I didn’t just say that, DW. I’m just kidding. This is not a challenge! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Blog eating week 3: Branny Boils Over « Love Actually
  2. Blog eating week 3: Branny Boils Over « Love Actually: Eating

Leave a Reply

