Skip to content

I got let go from work

September 3, 2009

So yesterday I got let go from work.

Well, not let go in the way where it would be appropriate to send me a fruit basket or a cheese log to help console me.  Although, I’d appreciate the thought.  Let go in terms of I got the afternoon off.

And people who love cooking as much as I do rejoice when they unexpectedly get more time in the kitchen.  But I’m a little different.  The first thing I did when I got home was not cooking.  It was napping. And when I nap, I nap. We’re talking pillow creases on my skin, pools of drool on the Omnivore’s pillow (never on my own pillow, that’s just nasty!), the works.

When I woke up from my coma nap, the Omnivore had vanished.  Turns out, he’d gone to the doctor.  And no one likes going to the doctor.  And since I had extra time, I thought I’d make him a pick-me-up to surprise him.

cake

So I made him a cake.  His first response?  “I am not worthy.”

And he’s right!  The crazy man has always preferred boxed cakes to homemade cakes.  Until this day.  He even said, “Can you make me this cake for my birthday?”  (This is the ultimate complement.  You see, the Omnivore saves only his *more favorite* requests for his birthday).

I doubt we’ll be waiting until his birthday to eat this cake again.  Do you really need a special occasion to eat cake?  Nah.

cake2

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting (source: So Tasty, So Yummy)
4 Eggs
2 cups Sugar
2 cups Flour
2 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Salt
1 cup Milk
2 tbls Butter
1 tsp Vanilla
Preheat oven to 350*.  Beat eggs until thick and then gradually add sugar.  Combine dry ingredients and sift.  Heat milk and butter to boiling.  Add vanilla to batter and gradually pour in flour mixture.  Slowly pour milk into mixing bowl and stir until combined.  Bake 25-30 minutes.

1 stick butter, softened
3 cups confectioner’s sugar
2/3 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
5 to 6 tablespoons cream

Cream together butter, 1 cup of the sugar, cocoa, vanilla and 1 tablespoon of the milk. Slowly add the remaining ingredients, alternating.  2 cups.

cake2

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 7:41 am

    Love the yellow cake-chocolate frosting combo! I especially appreciate that those layers are nice and thick… I hate measly little layers that can’t support all the frosting I want to use!

  2. Ashley permalink
    September 3, 2009 8:36 am

    I’ve never commented on your blog before, but I’m an avid reader and love it! But, I had to comment on this because yellow cake with chocolate icing is my husband’s favorite cake also and I have made it for him every year on his birthday since we started dating. However, I’ve always felt my recipe was lacking a bit and that a box cake might be better. So glad to find this recipe and that you loved it. I will be trying it out this year for the hubby’s birthday.

  3. September 3, 2009 9:38 am

    Beautiful job! Ominvore is a very lucky man! I’m book marking this cake. Chocoolate and yellow cake is my favorite combination.

  4. September 3, 2009 9:59 am

    It looks perfectly fluffy! If you have any leftovers, you’re welcome to send them my way 🙂

  5. September 3, 2009 10:44 am

    Yellow cake with chocolate frosting is my all time favorite cake combo! My hubby would appreciate the addition of the sprinkles on top too, since he reverts back to a 5 year old when sprinkles are involved. :o)

  6. The 'Vore permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:12 am

    You’re right BMK, I AM a very lucky man (except for the drool on my pillow part). And I’m right, too: I am not worthy.

  7. September 4, 2009 11:41 am

    This looks SO good and moist. Mmm. White and yellow cakes with chocolate frosting are my favorite ever.

  8. September 5, 2009 2:21 pm

    Oh wow, it looks delicious! I’m the same way when I nap.

    i love that your hubby commented too 🙂

  9. September 7, 2009 9:51 pm

    I am so glad you both enjoyed it! It is the best cake.

  10. September 28, 2009 11:01 pm

    this looks INCREDIBLE!

Leave a Reply

