Skip to content

Hot Licks Chicken

September 8, 2009

For a person who doesn’t eat meat, I sure have a lot of recipes for chicken, beef, and pork.  From the way I talk about tender roasts that come out of my crock pot, moist pork tenderloins roasted in my oven, and kabobs cooked on my grill, I can make your mouth water with my descriptions and you’d never know that I hadn’t tasted a single one of these creations.

I can make a mean beefy-chilli and some hearty spaghetti-meat-sauce to rival the best of them, all without a taste test.  And for the most part, I’m totally okay with that.

But sometimes, just sometimes, I want to eat what I’ve made for the Omnivore.  I want to eat the recipe for which I’ve made a special trip to the grocery store, I want to eat the recipe that required that extra step, that extra T.L.C. that just makes it restaurant-quality.  And I must be honest, when I ran across this recipe for Hot Licks Chicken I was initially saddened that the Omnivore was the only one who could enjoy the potential tastiness.

But I should not fret, for my old stand-by Chik’n recipe sufficed as a stand-in for the poultry.  We both enjoyed the flavors that the dry rub and the glaze added to the chicken.

chikn

For the Dry rub (4 chik’n pieces or 4 thin breasts)
2 teaspoons poultry seasoning
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper

Combine ingredients and rub on both sides of the chik’n (or chicken).  Let rest for 5 minutes.

For cooking and glaze
Cooking spray
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup dry white wine
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon low-sugar orange marmalade

Heat a nonstick pan coated with cooking spray over medium heat.  Add chikn; cook 1 minute on each side or until lightly browned. Add water and wine to pan; cover, reduce heat, and simmer (if using real chicken, this takes about 6 minutes).  Remove breasts from pan; keep warm. Add lemon juice and 1/8 teaspoon salt to pan. Bring to a boil; cook 4 minutes or until reduced to 3 tablespoons. Remove from heat; stir in marmalade. Spoon sauce over chik’n.

And I know you’re wondering what the Omnivore’s dish looks like.  So I took a quick snapshot.  I’m giving you fair warning here, though, because it looks like trout to me :-/

chicken

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 7:16 pm

    Hahaha okay, okay… it DOES sort of look like trout. But it also looks tasty!

  2. September 8, 2009 8:01 pm

    Trout or chicken, it looks delicious! The glaze looks so flavorful with the use of orange marmalade too!

  3. Melissa permalink
    September 10, 2009 7:50 pm

    Your chick’n definitely looks more like the real thing!

Leave a Reply

