Skip to content

Entertaining recipe requests

September 17, 2009

The Omnivore doesn’t request certain meals or dishes often.  I don’t know if it is because he thinks I’ll shoot down his request, or because he thinks I’m not open to suggestions, or what.  The truth is, I’m happy to hear his wants and desires.  And if they align with my wants and desires, we’re set.

The ‘Vore had a delicious coffee cake at work a few months ago.  He asked the baker for her recipe, and she dutifully emailed the goods.  I’ve had the recipe sitting in my email inbox since July 3rd.  And tonight, I told the Omnivore I’d be making the infamous breakfast treat.

coffeecake But in addition to his recipe request, the Omnivore had a caveat.

“Please,” he begged, “make the recipe exactly as directed.”

Insert my innocent eyes here.

“I mean, if it asks for butter, give it butter.  None of that smartbutter crap, I mean, stuff.”

What, me?, try to healthify something?

Never.

“And no wheat flour,” he added.

“But honey,” I said, “all flour I use is made from wheat…”

“White flour, branny, just like the girl at work.  Please.”

And I complied, for the most part.  And the Omnivore caught me.  I pulled my box of cake flour out of the pantry.  And he spied it.  He was thinking, “Oh no.  Not the vital wheat gluten.  Not here.  Not now.”  But I quickly read his glances and assured him that that there was certainly nothing vital about this enriched white flour.  And the crisis was averted.

cutcake The Omnivore moaned in satisfaction after his first peice of this cake.  And then he had a second peice.  And then I asked him if I might bring some cake to work for my fellow employees.  And he said, “No.  My cake.”

So.  It is good.  Tasty.  Hoardable.

Sour Cream Coffee Cake (source: the Omnivore’s coworker)
2 cups flour (AP or cake)
1 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1 cup sour cream
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
1 t vanilla

Topping:
1/3 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 t cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Mix dry ingredients together; put aside.  Cream butter and sugar, add eggs and beat well.  Mix in dry ingredients, then add sour cream; beat well.  Mix topping ingredients in a separate bowl.  Put half batter in greased and floured tube pan.  Sprinkle half topping mixture on top.  Carefully spread the other half of batter on top and then sprinkle the rest of the topping mixture.  Bake at 350 for approximately 40 – 50 minutes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 10:23 am

    Haha! Poor Omnivore, always having his food healthified.

    My husband isn’t much for making requests either, which I think is due to two reasons. 1) He really doesn’t care that much. 2) Like you said, I’ll only take his request if it aligns with my own desires. So, sadly, his ideas have gotten shot down a time or two.

  2. Marissa permalink
    September 17, 2009 9:21 pm

    Branny – I have been reading for a while, but I haven’t had the ganas or confidence to make anything yet. I think I would like to try this – does it matter of it is in a tube pan?

    Also, I will be attempting the rice and bean strata and the lentil “meatloaf” soon. I just has to get all the ingredients for those.

    Thank you! These recipes will surely make this vegetarian and her omnivore very happy.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      September 18, 2009 6:02 am

      Hi Marissa! Have fun with these recipes. This cake could work very well in a 9×5″ loaf pan. Pour 1/2 batter in, sprinkle topping, pour rest of batter in, put remaining topping on top and bake away. It’ll probably take about 40 minutes to bake as well!

      We love the lentil-loaf so I am sure you guys will too. Thanks for reading

  3. September 18, 2009 9:48 am

    Lol – gotta love the omnivore for special requests and at least he was appreciative and loved it! Looks like a great recipe too 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. And I thought I was the foodie in the house « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

