Skip to content

Zucchini Basil Soup

September 24, 2009

This is an adult only soup.  Parents, don’t bother serving this stuff to your kids.  First of all, it is green. And kids hate green food.  That is pretty much accepted fact.  I think I actually saw a study in the JAMA about it.  Well, maybe not, but maybe so.

Honestly, the reason you shouldn’t bother serving this to your kids is that you need to hoard it all for yourself.  The Omnivore put it this way: this is the best soup I’ve ever made.  I need to put it in the rotation.  And it doesn’t matter that it contains zucchini (the most loathsome veggie) this stuff is freaking awesome.

What’s also awesome is that it is amazingly creamy with no cream at all.  And it is quick.  And it uses garden fresh herbs and vegetables.

green soup

Wait.  There’s one bad thing about this recipe.  It only makes enough for two servings.  So double it.  That is all.

I thought about adding bacon to the Omnivore’s bowl.  But then I got lazy.  And I’d made soft pretzels as a side dish, anyway, so I was golden in his eyes.  You could add bacon, though, if you wish.  Or sausage.  Oh, hell, I don’t know.  I don’t even remember what chicken tastes like anymore.

Green Soup (serves 2, adapted from epicurious)
2 pounds zucchini, trimmed and cut crosswise into thirds
3/4 cup chopped onion
4 garlic cloves, chopped
1/8 cup olive oil
4 cups broth, divided
1/3 cup packed basil leaves
salt and pepper
sour cream, for garnish

Julienne skin (only) from half of zucchini with slicer; toss with 1/2 teaspoon salt and drain in a sieve until wilted, at least 20 minutes. Coarsely chop remaining zucchini.

Cook onion and garlic in oil in a 3- to 4-quarts heavy saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add chopped zucchini and 1 teaspoon salt and cook, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes. Add 3 cups broth and simmer, partially covered, until tender, about 15 minutes. Purée soup with basil in blender.

Bring remaining cup water to a boil in a small saucepan and blanch julienned zucchini 1 minute. Season soup with salt and pepper. Serve in shallow bowls with julienned zucchini mounded on top and garnish with sour cream.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 7:59 am

    Oh this looks great! I love zucchini (unlike you? or is it The Omnivore who dislikes zucchini?). Anyway, I love zucchini, and I hadn’t seen a soup recipe for it. Plus this has so few ingredients. Awesome!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      September 24, 2009 8:43 pm

      I adore zucchini and buy about a pound of it weekly if my garden isn’t producing it. The Omnivore insists that he does not like it, but I keep incorporating it into his meals and I think the veggie is growing on him. Or I’m wearing him down, lol!

  2. Carla permalink
    September 24, 2009 8:48 am

    Looks great! For a very short period of time right now, I can get both fresh basil and fresh zuchinni at my farmer’s market, so I’ll be making your soup this week!
    Do you think it would freeze well? I don’t see anything in the recipe that would suggest it wouldn’t.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      September 24, 2009 8:42 pm

      Yes, I see no reason why it wouldn’t freeze well. I say make a double or triple batch and store it away for the winter to remind you of delicious summer produce!

  3. September 24, 2009 9:36 am

    That looks great! I was wondering how you would make it creamy without cream.

  4. lee malerich permalink
    September 25, 2009 12:42 pm

    i’ll have some tonight!

  5. September 25, 2009 6:08 pm

    This looks so great with all the garlic and basil in it – yay for green soup 🙂

  6. The 'Vore permalink
    September 26, 2009 7:38 am

    Bacon or no bacon, this soup was fantastic! I’m the one who dislikes zucchini, but I must say this was good.

  7. September 28, 2009 10:53 pm

    this looks amazing! and i think Maura would actually eat it. she LOVES zucchini. actually, she’ll eat pretty much any veggie i put on her plate. guess i got pretty lucky there.

Leave a Reply

