Skip to content

Those restaurants where we used to eat…

October 5, 2009

Since I’ve become a vegetarian and much more of a cook, the type of restaurants the Omnivore and I frequent has changed.

Sometimes, while the Vore and I are driving along the interstate, he’ll look longingly at the exit ramps when he catches a glimpse of certain chain restaurants and sigh, “Remember when we used to eat there?  They had the best ribs and hot wings and potato skins.  Ohhh the potato skins.”

Lucky for the Omnivore, with the help of Just2Good, I was able to surpass Chili’s ribs:ribs

I never have to go back there again.  I mean…Look!  I made ribs!

It is those darn potato skins that keep the Omnivore coming back for more.  And, frankly, I just don’t get it.  Only the Omnivore would love frozen slabs of potato, cheese, and bacon flash cooked in an oven in some tackily-decorated establishment…

But oh how he loves those taters.  And I just can’t bring myself to spend the money and calories at those restaurants, where I’ve been known to order the Italian Chicken Sandwich without the chicken because there’s no other vegetarian option.

So, in honest Branny-form, I was bound and determined to create potato skins at home so that I could break the Omnivore of his chain restaurant eating habit.  And in that process, I created a delicious vegetarian main dish for myself.

potato skin

Mexican Potato Boats
Medium Sized Russet baking potatoes
1 can fat free Vegetarian refried beans
scallions
butter
salt
tomato, chopped
purple cabbage, sliced

Scrub potatoes and poke with fork all over.  Place in crockpot, on low, 8 hours until cooked.  Remove from crockpot and let cool slightly.  Preheat oven to 350*.  Slice lengthwise and using a sharp-edged spoon or knife, scoop out interior of potato until only a slight layer of potato remains with the skin.

shell I found it easiest to score the inside of the potato in a grid  pattern and then pop out one chunk with the knife blade.  Then, using a cheap spoon from my college dormatory days, I was able to scrape out the rest of the potato quite easily.

Next, lightly butter the exteriors of the potatoes and sprinkle with salt.  Bake them in the oven, cavity side down, for 15 minutes.

Remove from oven and fill with refried beans.  Top with tomatoes.  Return to oven for 15 minutes until potato skins are piping hot.  Serve with scallions and purple cabbage

potatoskin

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamara permalink
    October 5, 2009 10:22 am

    Yummy! I can’t wait to try this for a football game appetizer.

  2. October 5, 2009 6:32 pm

    I love potato skins! I am going to have to try these out!

  3. October 5, 2009 8:24 pm

    Great idea! Potato boats are so tasty, and I love pretty much anything with a Mexican twist!

  4. Amy permalink
    October 24, 2009 7:57 am

    Mmm, I must admit. I love potato skins! Glad your hubby enjoyed the ribs!

Leave a Reply

