Skip to content

Wilton Sugar Cookie Review

October 6, 2009

This post is partly an Ode to the Men in my family – those beasts with the super-fast metabolisms.  Those omnivores (little “O” here out of respect to my husband) who will gobble up just about anything in their paths.  Yes.  The men do the eating.  And so I do the baking.

I’ve probably spent about 50 bucks by now sending cookies to my little bro out in the Midwest.  He could have purchased like 75 boxes of Oreos with that amount of money, right?  But it isn’t the same as receiving cookies, broken and stale from improper packaging and non-climate controlled mail trucks, is it?  Tell me, despite the cracks and burnt edges, that he likes my cookies better.  Just appease me.  Please.

sugarcookie

The recipe below is now going to be my standard rollout sugar cookie recipe.  I usually use this recipe, which is similar in some ways (namely the addition of almond extract).

Why I like it:
-Calls for granulated sugar rather than powdered sugar
-Calls for butter rather than shortening
-Tastes great
-Requires NO chilling
-Recipe is created to withstand multiple rolls, rerolls, cuts, with the addition of more flour
-Bakes quickly

Because decorating cookies can be time consuming, I also like that this recipe has a short mixer-to-oven time.

Wilton Sugar Cookies
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 egg
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons clear vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon no-color almond extract
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

About 3 dozen cookies.

Preheat oven to 400°F. In mixing bowl, cream butter with sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and extracts. Mix flour, baking powder and salt; add to butter mixture 1 cup at a time, mixing after each addition. Do not chill dough. Divide dough into 2 balls. On a floured surface, roll each ball into a circle approximately 12 in. wide and 1/8 in. thick. Dip cookie cutter in flour before each use. Bake cookies on ungreased cookie sheet 6-7 minutes or until cookies are lightly browned.

Other Recipes I’ve Used:

Chocolate Sugar Cookies (adapted from here, originally of Smitten Kitchen)
1.5 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup lightly salted butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
Whisk  flour, salt and baking powder in bowl and set aside.  In bowl of your mixer, add butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla and cocoa. Gradually add flour mixture, and mix until smooth. Wrap in plastic and chill for at least one hour.  When ready to roll out, preheat oven to 350*.

Roll out cookie dough on floured surface to 1/8″ thickness. Cut into desired shapes, brushing extra deposits of flour off the top. Bake on a parchment-lined baking sheet for 8 to 11 minutes until the edges are firm and the centers are slightly soft and puffed.  I adore this recipe.  The ingredients are pantry staples, and the chocolate spin is so tasty.  It does call for chilling, though, so plan ahead.

Sugar Cookies (recipe courtesy of Annie’s Eats)
1 cup butter
1 cup powdered sugar
1 egg, beaten
1.5 t almond extract
1 t vanilla
1 t salt
2.5 cup flour

Cream butter and add sugar.  Blend in egg, extracts, salt, and flour.  Chill dough until firm.  Roll to desired thickness and cut on a well floured surface.  Baked at 375 for 8-10 minutes.  Do not allow cookies to brown.  These cookies are great for intricate patterns.  As you can see from the list of ingredients, it does not call for a leavening agent (like the baking powder in the Wilton recipe)I like the puff that the Wilton recipe has (and it does not detract from the recipe’s ability to hold up to cutout shapes) but if you are looking for clean edges, this recipe is the one to go to.  The flavor is similar to the Wilton recipe.


Sugar Cookies
(adapted from The Illustrated Encyclopedia of American Cooking)
1 c sugar
1/2 c butter (original recipe says shortening, btw, and this wasn’t my only change to the recipe)
2 eggs
2 T milk
1 T vanilla extract
3.5 c flour
2 tsp baking powder

Cream sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.  Add eggs and milk.  Add vanilla and beat well.  Sift remaining ingredients and add to creamed mixture.  Cover and chill.  Roll out on a floured surface to 1/4″ thickness and cut as desired.  Bake at 375* for 8 – 10 minutes until just golden.  This recipe is my least favorite.  It calls for shortening and chilling.  It also puffs up a lot during cooking.  It tasted nice…but how can a sugar cookie not taste good?  So, unless you have to choose this recipe, move along Betty.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 6:20 am

    I still haven’t found a sugar cookie recipe I’m totally satisfied with, so maybe this will be the one! I worked at a bakery and we made great sugar cookies, but they were full of shortening which is just not my style.

  2. October 7, 2009 9:37 am

    Thanks for posting this. Maybe I will finally try to make sugar cookies now!

  3. October 7, 2009 10:22 am

    I love the “broken and stale from improper packaging” comment, because that’s pretty much how I feel about sending treats. I still do it, and I definitely think they’re appreciated (especially by someone like your brother, who, I believe, is younger?), but I just wish I could give them fresh.

    For what it’s worth, the best way I’ve found is using those “disposable” ziploc-type plastic containers. I have much more faith in my treats arriving intact when they’re in containers and not bags.

    Anyway, nice review of sugar cookie recipes. There are so many, and people tend to have strong feelings about their favorites.

  4. October 7, 2009 9:34 pm

    Thanks for the great recipe review! Your cookies are adorable!

  5. lee malerich permalink
    October 8, 2009 7:32 pm

    the one cookie the birthday boy had was fine and we don’t worry about broken pieces.by the time I got home from work,most of the birthday message was gone we thank you very much anyway,G & G.

  6. brannyboilsover permalink*
    October 9, 2009 5:46 am

    Thanks for the review, G! I’m letting you off easy, though, because if you were the Omnivore I’d have you write a “compare and contrast” essay on all the sugar cookie types I’ve made.

    I guess it was a good sign that little-G and (medium?)-G ate most of your Happy BIrthday Message before you had a chance.

  7. Melissa permalink
    October 11, 2009 8:27 am

    Great comparison post Branny! I can’t wait to try the Wilton recipe now.

Leave a Reply

