Skip to content

Warm Sesame Noodles

October 15, 2009

You know what I love?  Recipes with the word warm in them.  Like Warm Butternut Squash Salad.  You know why?  Because that means the dish it not meant to be served piping hot off the stove.  And I’ve got reasons for that preference.

You see, although the Omnivore eats a lot of the vegetarian entrees I create, he truly enjoys a meaty entree rather frequently.  I juggle cooking chicken or beef alongside my main dish many o’ night.  And I also enjoy delicious side dishes as well.  Plain brown rice?  Eh.  Pass.  Simple salted cous cous?  Save that for another day.

So why do I like this recipe?  Ahh, the word warm.  That means I can throw it together and shove it aside while I finish panicking over the stove, trying not to burn the chicken or the beans.  And the flavor here is fantastic, too.

sesame noodles

Warm Sesame Noodles (adapted from here)
6 oz thin spaghetti (I used whole wheat spinach)
2 T soy sauce
1 T sesame oil
1 T canola oil
2 T hot water
2 cloves minced garlic
1.5 tsp sugar or 1 tsp agave nectar
dash cayenne pepper
sesame seeds
1 scallion

Boil pasta and thinly slice scallions.  Whisk together remaining ingredients.  Pour sauce over warm noodles and fold in scallions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 7:24 am

    I’m making that warm squash salad tonight! I completely agree with you about how nice a bit of flexibility is when you’re finishing up a meal. Heck, even when it’s just a one-course meal, it’s nice to be able to clean up a bit before dinner while the food goes from hot to warm.

  2. October 15, 2009 10:47 am

    Mmm, looks simple and delicious. I love that you used whole wheat spinach pasta. That’s gotta be like super healthy!

Leave a Reply

