Skip to content

For the Birthday Boy

October 20, 2009
tags:

On the Omnivore’s birthday, I decided to start his day off with a bang.  I wore my footie pajamas because they are so sexy.  

And I made sure to arrange a Sunday-6-AM wakeup birthday call from my great Aunt Maude.

And I also decided to fill his tummy with a breakfast food he’d love.  And when I saw this recipe adapted from Gourmet magazine, I knew he would devour a slice with his morning coffee.

I knew he’d inwardly groan at the sound of Pumpkin Apple Bread in the same manner as he woefully sighed when Maude rang the phone at 6am and rolled over and saw me donning this 1-piece-wonder.

You see, he thinks he doesn’t like quick bread.  And he thinks he despises pumpkin.  And he’d tell you that he’d rather not have fruit or nuts in his breakfast, anyway.  But it’s all lies.  He loves it.  So when he walked in the kitchen, sniffing the aromas, and commenting, “What’s that delicious smell?”  I simply said “Breakfast Birthday Cake,” and left it at that.

pumpkin apple bread

This is the most moist pumpkin bread ever.  The pumpkin flavor is prominent but not overpowering and the apples dispersed throughout the loaf are a welcome surprise.  Nuts would be a great addition.

For topping:
1 T brown sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 Tbs unsalted butter, melted

For bread:
1.5 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground allspice
8 oz can solid-pack pumpkin
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 Granny smith apples, peeled, cored, and chopped (1 cup)

Combine flour, spices, and baking soda.  Mix together beaten egg, pumpkin, and oil.  Combine wet with dry ingredients, folding in the apples at the end.  Bake at 350* for 40 minutes.

Melt butter for topping and combine with sugar and brown sugar.  Brush on loaf and bake for an additional 10 minutes.  Let cool in pan for 20-30 minutes and then cool completely on a rack.

pumpkinslice

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 7:45 pm

    Happy Birthday to the Omnivore! Birthday breakfast cake – hahaha, if I told my hubby that he wouldn’t eat it because he would think it wasn’t healthy! This looks delicious – I still haven’t made pumpkin bread this season yet, but it’s on my list. Love the apples in yours!

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Crisps « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

