Skip to content

Apple Crisps

October 24, 2009

So I was at the grocery store the other day, minding my own business, sticking to my list, and on target to break the world record my personal record of buying a week’s worth of groceries by spending only $17.

I so had my A-game.  I was rockin’ out on my iPod, passing Sunday-shoppers on the left side of the aisle, leaving grocery-cart skid marks in the dust.  I rounded the canned good aisle and BAM! ran into a darn good deal on apples.

Usually, I buy 3 pounds of apples for $2.49.  Well, actually, I buy 6 pounds for almost $5.  But this day, the apples were staring me in the face at a whopping $1.10 for 3 pounds.  And they were good lookin’ apples.

So I armed myself with nearly 10 pounds of fruit and rushed the check-out line before my guilt of spending $19 instead of $17 on groceries overwhelmed me.

And then I came home and was faced with the fact that I already had about 7 apples in my refrigerator crisper.  The Omnivore promised he’d eat those blasted things.  Clearly, the autumn-fruit season has gotten out of control in the house of Branny.  So, per my usual response to insanity in my life, I began to cook.

I made pumpkin apple bread, pumpkin apple chili, and diced, blanched, and froze apples for future baking extravaganzas.

And believe it or not, that was not the end of the apples.  So I made apple chips:

apple chip

They were great for chili-dipping!  They were low maintenance.  And healthy.  I added no sugars because these red delicious apples were amazingly good and sweet already (a attribute I find rare in that variety of apple).

Method:
Combine 2 T lemon juice with 5 cups water in a large bowl.
Preheat oven to lowest temperature setting.

Clean and slice apples as thinly as possible.  Mine were 1/8″, maybe thinner.  Thicknesses may vary and that’s okay.
Place sliced apples in bowl of lemon juice and water.  Dab dry with a dish cloth and place on a cookie sheet, lightly sprayed with nonstick spray, in a single layer.

Bake in oven for 3-4 hours, turning them over occasionally, until crisp and delicious.

This recipe is very forgiving.  I baked for about 2 hours one night, turned the oven off, leaving the crisps inside, reheated the oven the next day and continued the process with no negative results.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

