Skip to content

Apricot Lattice Cookies

December 17, 2009

I take no responsibility for this recipe.  It is my grocery store’s fault.  You see, I shop with a list.  And my list and I are so steadfast that I actually don’t shop with a list.

Well that makes a whole lotta nonsense, doesn’t it?  Basically, I buy the same stuff every week.  Eggs.  Half and Half.  Meat, if it is on sale.  Cheese, maybe.  Beans, yes.  Chips, no.  Vegetables that look good.  6 lbs of apples.  Butter (unfortuantely).

So, as a result, I shop with tunnel vision.  I also hit 3 grocery stores each Saturday.  So I’m on a mission.  You can’t stop me.  I cannot be swayed.  I am in.  I am out.  I am gone.

Then, how, just how, did I end up with apricot preserves in my pantry?  I blame it primarily on the Omnivore and secondarily on holiday displays.  Those advertisers so suggestively stack jars of formerly-obscure ingredients, just begging to be turned into a pie, cookie, or cake.  And the Omnivore had recently raved over an apricot crostata his sister had made, inspired by this recipe.

But those preserves didn’t end up in my pantry only to repeat what we’ve already tasted.  We had to try something new.  So that’s when I remembered Linzer Cookies.  They’ve got fruit in them, right?  And they’re ever-present around the holidays, right?  And off I went.  The cookie recipe is inspired by a Good Housekeeping recipe for traditional Linzer cookies.

For the dough
3.5 oz blanch almonds, ground
1 egg
2 cups AP flour
1 cup sugar
pinch salt
3/4 cup softened butter
8 oz apricot preserves
powdered sugar

Beat sugar and butter.  Add egg.  Add flour and ground almonds.  Mixture may be crumbly.  Refrigerate dough 2 hours.  Preheat oven to 350*.

Spray 9×13″ baking dish with nonstick spray.  Press 3/5 of the dough into the bottom of the pan (refrigerate remaining dough while doing this step).  Spread apricot preserves on top.  Roll remaining dough into 5 logs, 13″ long, and 7 logs 9″ long.  Arrange in a lattice on top of preserves (no need to weave dough).   Bake 32-35 minutes until top is golden.  Cool on wire rack and sprinkle with powdered sugar when cooled.  Cut into bars.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    December 18, 2009 8:17 am

    It doesn’t show in the instructions when to add the almonds. I am assuming its for the dough??? By the way these sound delicious! I always get the Peppridge Farm linzer cookies but these sound better cuz of the apricot. =)

  2. December 18, 2009 9:56 am

    Wow Branny – those look so beautiful and professional!! Just gorgeous! And having apricot preserves in your pantry is definitely a good thing 🙂

  3. themilkmanswife permalink
    December 18, 2009 10:07 pm

    So pretty! Yum!

Leave a Reply

