Skip to content

Sweet Potato Pecan Burgers

January 4, 2010

Alright.  It’s me versus them – the CookingLight.com recipe reviewers.

I made these absolutely delicious sweet potato pecan burgers and was totally impressed by their flavor and character.  I could not wait to blog them.  In fact, I began the blog entry as I was eating these for lunch.  They were that good.

And that’s when I stumbled upon tons of negative reviews.  Slander, I tell you, slander.  I’ve got to set the record straight.

Let’s see what others had to say about this recipe:

This is the worst recipe I have ever tried from Cooking Light–I usually love most of the recipes. The burger had absolutely no flavor and was quite a bit of work. Very disappointing. 11/20/09

Really?  The worst recipe?  And work?  Well, cooking does require effort.

It was an expensive and time-consuming mess that went down the disposal! DO NOT waste your time or money! 02/21/09

The charge that it was expensive is a bit unsettling to me.  Maybe that’s because I am a super-duper shopper and picked up my 3 lbs of sweet potatoes for $0.75.

Now, I don’t know what these recipe testers were looking for.  Is this a backyard-grill worthy patty?  No.  Will it quench your thirst for blood, meat, and gore?  No.  I think these people must have just had the wrong expectations for this recipe.  Because it is truly delicious.  Complex and flavorful.

Maybe I struck dumb luck because I used ground pecans rather than the chopped variety this recipe called for…

In any case, I have posted the recipe below as I made it.  The patties were delicious on a bed of kale, as well as on a toasted bun for a more traditional burger feel.  The balsamic caramelized onions were wonderful so don’t omit that step.

Sweet Potato Pecan Burgers (6, adapted from Cooking Light)
Onions
nonstick spray
3 cups sliced onion
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt

Burgers
2 cups (1/2-inch) cubed peeled sweet potato
Cooking spray
2 cups chopped onion
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup regular oats
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 – 1/3 cup ground pecans, toasted

(if serving as hamburgers)
6 Boston lettuce leaves
6 (1 1/2-ounce) 100% whole wheat or whole-grain buns
6 T chili sauce

To prepare onions, heat a large nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add sliced onion to pan; sauté 12 minutes or until browned, stirring occasionally. Stir in vinegar, sugar, and 1/8 teaspoon salt; cook 30 seconds or until vinegar is absorbed. Remove onion mixture from pan; keep warm. Wipe pan dry with a paper towel.

Remove peel from potatoes and cook as desired (or use equivalent amount leftover baked sweet potato, removed from the skin) – bake, steam, or microwave.

Place potato, chopped onion mixture, oats, cumin, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and pepper in a food processor; process until smooth. Place potato mixture in a large bowl; stir in nuts. Divide potato mixture into 6 equal portions, shaping each into a 1/2-inch-thick patty.

Heat pan over medium-high heat and spray with cooking spray. Add 3 patties to pan; cook 4 minutes or until browned. Carefully turn patties over; cook 3 minutes or until browned. Remove from pan; keep warm.  Repeat with remaining patties.

Per patty:
Calories 198.8
Total Fat 8.2 g
Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
Sugars 6.0 g
Protein 4.5 g

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 3:45 pm

    That looks absolutely wonderful! Pish posh, Cooking Light negative nellies.

  2. January 4, 2010 5:54 pm

    You’re going through a bit of a caramelized onion phase lately it seems! I love them too, and I think this recipe sounds great.

  3. themilkmanswife permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:20 pm

    I am making these sooner rather than later! Thanks for setting all those reviewers straight! Looks great.

  4. Becca :-) permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:55 pm

    What’s not to like?!?! This looks delish!!!

  5. January 4, 2010 10:41 pm

    I will not be deterred by those negative reviews! I love the looks of those burgers

Leave a Reply

