Skip to content

Apricot Pork Chops

February 17, 2010
tags:

I’ve been married for nearly 4 years now.  So I don’t think I count as a newlywed any longer.  Although I do think my Omnivore is just cute as a button and I get nauseous butterflies in my stomach every time I see him.  And yes, after all these years, he stills serenades me as I cook dinner:

So, back to the newlywed story.  I’ve heard that many new husbands often request dishes from their new wives that are “just like mom used to make.”  And that’s totally understandable.  The new husband is feeling awkward and unsettled in his new marriage and some mama’s home cooking is just what he needs to help him attain some sure-footedness in that matrimony.

I remember writing my vows with the Omnivore.  We had some ground rules during this process: if one of us really wants to make a statement during the vows that means *that much* then the other shall not veto that vow.

Imagine my surprise when my then-fiance’ requested that I include the line, “I shall not make a pork chop.”

Obviously my poor husband had been ruined on pork chops by his mother, who only ever created tough, chewy, leathery slabs o’ meat.  And naturally, I complied…I was a vegetarian after all.  Why would I go out of my way to make a dish that he requested me avoid?

That was, until, the year of the meat.  2010.  And now I’m eating flesh (mmmm…flesh).  And I’m wondering what a pork chop tastes like…because I cannot recall ever being served one in my life.  And I come home from the grocery store, with a 4-pack of center cut chops, and the Omnivore’s face goes white.  Not.Pork.Chops.

Lucky for me (us!), the recipe I used made for a delicious pork chop, with absolutely nothing in common with the mother-in-law’s rendition of yesteryear.  So, wedding vows may have been broken, but the end result was worth it.

One Year Ago: Rainbow Cake with Avocado Frosting and Italian Wedding Soup

Apricot Pork Chops (3, adapted from CookingLight)
3 center cut chops
1 scallion, sliced
1 small onion, sliced
2 T apricot preserves
1 tsp minced garlic
1/4 cup water
1 T soy sauce

Preheat a stainless skillet coated with cooking spray.  Add chops (seasoned with pepper) and cook over medium heat for 6 minutes on each side until a slight brown crust develops.  Meanwhile, combine soy sauce, garlic, and apricot preserves.  Remove chops from the pan and keep warm.  Add onion to the skillet and cook until soft, about 4 minutes.  Deglaze pan with 1/4 cup water and stir in apricot glaze mixture.  Return chops to pan and simmer 1-2 minutes, flipping pork chops to ensure they are nicely coated.  Garnish with scallions.

3 servings
Calories 204.8
Total Fat 7.4 g
Cholesterol 51.1 mg
Sodium 334.9 mg
Potassium 370.0 mg
Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
Sugars 8.1 g
Protein 21.0 g

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becca permalink
    February 17, 2010 9:27 am

    Yum!!!!! Just got pork chops again this week. TOTALLY trying this!!!!!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      February 17, 2010 10:32 am

      Love your enthusiasm, Becca. You will not be disappointed.

  2. February 18, 2010 12:27 pm

    My husband’s old roommate made us pork chops once, years ago, and they were NOT GOOD. You could tell that wouldn’t be good just by looking at them in the package – all thin and fatty and blech. Dave was pretty sure he was anti-pork chop then, so I had to make some really good pork chops to prove that with careful shopping and preparation, pork chops are great.

  3. February 18, 2010 1:17 pm

    I actually have come to really like pork chops. My husband on the other hand is very similar to yours. He will eat them but may not fully enjoy them. I will have to try this one to see what he thinks.

  4. February 18, 2010 3:28 pm

    Awww, what a cute story. I sometimes still think of myself as a newlywed and it’s been almost 6 years! Your pork chops look perfect!

  5. February 21, 2010 11:02 am

    Seemed to be worth breaking the vows .. just don’t break the important ones. 😉 I think pork chops are really tricky. I might try these because I only have one recipe and can’t bring myself to stray from it since they are sooo good (apple cider and apple slices on it). My moms were usually dry too so I was nervous making chops for the first time.

  6. Becca :-) permalink
    February 23, 2010 6:44 pm

    This was the OMG kind of good to my better half!!! This is a total keeper!!!!!

  7. Michelle permalink
    February 26, 2010 6:35 pm

    Awwww…. My dad used to play guitar while my mom cooked dinner when I was growing up. (They both sing)

Trackbacks

  1. Health for the Whole Self » What I Ate – 3/1/2010

Leave a Reply

