Skip to content

Yum Yum salad

February 24, 2010

I bet you think I’m being cute here, with this Yum Yum salad. But, really, do you know me?  Even just a little?

I’m not cute. I’m kind of, well, “homely,” if you’d ask the Omnivore.

I’m that person you see in the grocery store with the sweatsuit three sizes too big tripping over my own toes as I try to reach to the very top shelf for that ice cream salt in the middle of winter.

I’m that girl at the bus stop being debilitated by her scarf that is flapping unrelentingly in the wind.  How can some girls can wait for the bus so cutely?  And me?  Well, I’m always in the mud puddle.

I don’t really have a problem with all this, though.  I’ve fully embraced my uncuteness.  And it certainly makes pulling off my helmet hair easy.  If you aren’t cute to begin with, who cares if your hair is perpetually in the shape of an astronaut helmet?

So I didn’t give this salad a cute name.  It came with that name, honest.  I’ve seen it on more than one Thai restaurant menu.

One Year Ago: Honey Baked Lentils in Acorn Squashes

Yum Yum Salad (adapted from local chef Deborah Haydon)
8 oz flank steak
3 cups of mixed greens
1 tomato, sliced
1/4 cup green onions
1 small cucumber, shredded or sliced
1 carrot, shredded
1/4 cup sliced red onion

Marinade
2 T vegetable oil
1 T soy sauce
1 T sherry
1 clove garlic, minced
1 T freshly minced ginger

Dressing
1/4 cup soy sauce
juice from 1 lime
1 tsp freshly minced ginger
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp grated orange rind
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1 tsp Tabasco sauce
pinch sugar

Combine ingredients for marinade.  Marinate meat for at least 30 minutes (I did 6 hours).  Grill and let rest before slicing against the grain.

Combine ingredients for the dressing and toss, if you wish, with salad ingredients listed above.  Or, assemble salads and dress plates individually.

For the steak (including marinade) and salad (2 servings)
Does not include dressing info
Calories 232.3
Total Fat 5.5 g
Cholesterol 72.7 mg
Total Carbohydrate 9.2 g
Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
Sugars 0.2 g
Protein 31.7 g

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 11:01 pm

    Wait, your husband told you you’re homely? As in unattractive? It sounds like you’re more…frazzled? 🙂 I’m the same way – definitely not one of those people who always looks perfectly put together.

    The salad looks excellent though. Not homely at all.

  2. Frank permalink
    February 25, 2010 1:07 am

    Send the Omnivore for an eye check up immediately!!! Unless he has ear problems and didn’t understand the question. If so, send him to the otolaryngologist quickly!!! 😉

    BTW, the salad sounds yummy!!!

  3. brannyboilsover permalink*
    February 25, 2010 7:55 am

    Don’t worry, friends, the Omnivore caused no harm on my ego with his honesty. He compliments me 1000x more often than he refers to my occasional unhomliness 🙂

  4. jen permalink
    February 25, 2010 12:24 pm

    Glad to hear I’m not the only one who runs around life wondering how other people look so perfect when they’re doing the same thing. Hrm.
    I’m a little sad about your new flesh-eating ways, because I’ve gotten so many great veggie recipes from your site (I know that you still put up a great deal of those too).

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      February 25, 2010 2:37 pm

      Thanks for your feedback! Honestly, when I ate meat in the past, I didnt have the understanding of health and nutrition that I have now. So I wanted to see how I felt eating meat while following a more nutritionally-sound diet. I can’t say that eating meat is a change I’m going to keep forever, but I thought I’d give it a shot 🙂

  5. February 26, 2010 10:52 am

    this salad looks delish!!

  6. Insomniac permalink
    February 26, 2010 4:54 pm

    Please. You look so cute on that moped I can hardly stand it.

  7. The 'Vore permalink
    March 4, 2010 7:09 pm

    Ok…I never ever said she was homely. She says she’s homely all the time. I guess I just don’t disagree enough…

    Branny actually is very cute. Just modest.

Leave a Reply

