Skip to content

Traditional Hummus

March 5, 2010

I’ve had a lot of hummus over the past few years.  Combine the label of vegetarian with the reputation that Branny eats healthy plus the average Joe’s panic once they find out they might be feeding *moi* = hummus galore.

Anyone else experience this?

Oh!  And we’ve got a vegetarian option at this banquet: Hummus sandwiches!

Oh! Don’t worry, there’s more than brownies and Cheetos, we’ve got Hummus!

Oh!  Branny you’re going to love this, guess what I brought, hummus.


It is a darn good thing that I’m a fan of chick peas.  This recipe is one of the best I’ve tried for true hummus.  And I whipped it up in no time with the help of my pressure cooker (thank the Omnivore for that lovely Valentine’s gift) and my food processor out of simple pantry staples.  Yum, yum, yum!

Traditional Hummus (6 svgs, inspired by Mollie Katzen)
1.5 c cooked chickpeas (equiv. 1 can)
2 scallions, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic
2 T tahini
3 T lemon juice
1/2 t salt
3 T fresh, chopped parsley
1 T olive oil
stock or water to reach desired consistency

Combine garlic and parsley in a food processor.  Add chick peas and pulse.  Add scallions and pulse.  Add remaining ingredients, streaming in stock or water to reach desired consistency.

Per serving
Calories 123.2
Total Fat 6.3 g
Protein 4.6 g

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 1:31 pm

    I made so much hummus earlier this week that my food processor was filled to the very top. Which is awesome, because I eat like 1-2 tablespoons per day. Lifetime hummus supply!

    Your hummus looks great and your photos are lovely.

  2. March 6, 2010 11:00 pm

    I really love hummus but have never tried to make it myself. Thanks for the recipe. I may have to give it a chance.

    Great blog. Glad I stopped by!

Leave a Reply

