Skip to content

Cold Sesame Noodle Salad

April 2, 2010

I’m darn lucky.  I live a life of luxury.  I’m willing to bet, though, that my definition of “luxury” is vastly different from yours.

I’m not talking premium cars.  Remember, I drive a scooter.  Here I am with my rockin’ grandma:

I’m not talking luxury as in big house, either.  Or lavish vacations.  I’m talking TIME. And if you ask me, that’s the best kind of luxury and girl can have.

So for lunch, I get to create new dishes every day.  No rush.  No slam.  No clock to punch.  You, on the other hand, probably do not.  You are probably looking for something healthy and delicious that can be eaten every day and not be tiresome, can be consumed cold or room temperature, doesn’t spoil, and most importantly, makes your cubicle mates jealous.

So here’s the answer to your dreams.  Cold sesame noodle salad.  Make a double batch.  You’ll want it every day for lunch, I promise.  And let me know how jealous your cubicle mates get.  Sometimes I crave the pencil-tapping, phone-ringing, paper-pushing excitement of the job-world…

Cold Seasame Noodle Salad (4 servings)
6 oz ww pasta
1 T sesame oil
1 t minced ginger
1 t minced garlic
3 T rice wine vinegar
1/3 cup chopped carrot
1 scallion, chopped
3T soy sauce
1/2 cup toasted cashews
1  cup frozen peas
1 cup chickpeas

Boil pasta in salted water until al dente.  Just after removing pasta from heat, add frozen peas to pasta water to thaw.  Drain and set aside.  Whisk together oil, ginger, garlic, vinegar, and soy sauce.  Pour over warm noodles and add chopped carrots.  Garnish with scallions and toasted cashews.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 10:40 pm

    This lunch would definitely make all my labmates jealous! I love your addition of chickpeas for some extra protein too!

  2. June 24, 2010 9:22 am

    Oh my gosh-we have the same scooter! That’s awesome. Anyway-this noodle bowl looks amazing. I am definitely putting it on the menu!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      June 24, 2010 9:27 am

      Love that scooter! You can’t be in a bad mood and ride that thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

