Skip to content

Cookbook Giveaway

April 10, 2010

The Omnivore and I just had a garage sale.  Last year at our garage sale, I made lemon pound cake and coffee cake muffins to sell to the buyers.  No one was too keen on buying my baked goods so I ended up just giving them away.

And that whole experience set the pace for our garage sale this year.  Yep.  Just Give It Away. The Omnivore?   Well, he wasn’t too thrilled with that mindset.  He was trying to make a buck.  I was just trying to clean house.

Customer: How much is this?
Me: $7
The Omnivore: @!@* SEVEN dollars!?  You paid $50!
Customer: *oh goodness, did I just start World War III!?*

All in all, it was a successful day, though.  I got rid of junk.  The Omnivore made enough money to take himself out to lunch.  I ate leftovers at home.  Ha!

So, in the spirit of that garage sale, I’m offering a giveaway to my readers.  The prize?  Vegetarian Cooking For Everyone by Deborah Madison.

I’ve featured a ton of recipes from this book on my blog.  In addition to it being a trustworthy recipe source, it is very encyclopedic in nature, offering justifications for the use of choice ingredients.  It also suggests flavor pairings and substitutions.  It covers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert.  Even if you aren’t looking for main-course vegetarian meals, the other categories are worth the purchase of this book.

The copy that I am giving away is gently used.  I strongly, strongly oppose purchasing new books for myself.  If someone is done with a book, why not save a tree and pass along a gently used copy?  So, as long as you don’t mind a used book in great condition, feel free to enter this giveaway.  Continental US residents only.  This book weighs at least 11 pounds and shipping is getting pricey!

Enter the giveaway by leaving a comment on my blog regarding your best garage sale find (or, if other people’s stuff skeeves you out and you’ve never bought used stuff, just leave a comment saying “Hi!”).  The deadline is April 17th.  Winner will be chosen randomly.

And, I wouldn’t leave you hanging without a recipe, would I?

These lemon squares are perfect for when you actually DO want to sell something and will be winners at your next springtime bake sale!

One Year Ago: Hawaiian Bread

Lemon Squares (from Barefoot Contessa via SmittenKitchen)
For the crust:
1/2 pound unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 cups flour
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

Lemon layer:
4 extra-large eggs at room temperature
1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest (3 to 4 lemons)
2/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
2/3 cup flour

Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350°F and grease a 9 by 13 by 2-inch baking sheet.

For the crust, cream the butter and sugar until light in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Combine the flour and salt and, with the mixer on low, add to the butter until just mixed. Dump the dough onto a well-floured board and gather into a ball. Flatten the dough with floured hands and press it into the greased baking sheet, building up a 1/2-inch edge on all sides. Chill.

Bake the crust for 15 to 20 minutes, until very lightly browned. Let cool on a wire rack. Leave the oven on.

For the lemon layer, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and flour. Pour over the crust and bake for 30 to 35 minutes (less if you are using the thinner topping), or about five minutes beyond the point where the filling is set. Let cool to room temperature.

Cut into triangles and dust with confectioners’ sugar.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisa permalink
    April 10, 2010 7:33 pm

    I love garage sales, but never have found anything great. The only thing I can remember buying, that I loved was a baby doll when I was a kid.

  2. Renee permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:20 am

    Hi Branny! I have never bought anything at a garage sale, but this is a fun giveaway and a cute story.

  3. aly permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:33 am

    I don’t go to garage sales often, but found the cutest Mickey Mouse clock for my Mickey obsessed nephew last time I went…

  4. Stacy permalink
    April 11, 2010 8:00 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever really found anything at a garage sale that I HAD to have.

  5. jen permalink
    April 11, 2010 9:00 am

    The lemon bars look delicious! The story about you & the Omnivore’s ideas about the garage sale cracked me up 🙂 I definitely remember loving garage sales as a child, but can’t think of what my favorite find might have been. Now I’m more of a thrift store shopper. I still have a wooden carved statue of a seahorse that I bought at least 10 years ago & my mom thought (and still thinks) is the ugliest thing ever!

  6. Julie permalink
    April 11, 2010 1:11 pm

    I found some super cute vintage Christmas Tumblers for about $1 for a set of 4.

  7. April 11, 2010 3:49 pm

    My best find was my $5 George Foreman grill!

  8. Christy permalink
    April 11, 2010 4:57 pm

    My best garage sale find has been old houseplants! I love nursing them back to health

  9. The 'Vore permalink
    April 11, 2010 5:55 pm

    Ok, what Branny didn’t tell you all is that the $7/$50 item was BRAND NEW, in the bag, never used. I only wanted $15 for it.

    Also, Erin, the whole GF grill thing is a sore subject. She pleaded with me to put mine up for sale at the tag sale but I just couldn’t do it….

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      April 11, 2010 5:57 pm

      That’s it, ‘Vore! You’re out of the giveaway and your little (stupid) GF grill, too!

  10. Bethany permalink
    April 11, 2010 6:01 pm

    My husband bought me a wok at a garage sale. He wanted me to make him his favorite take-out dish: Fried rice. I’ve made it several times, but still haven’t mastered it yet to his liking. Wok works great though!

  11. tiffany permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:16 pm

    Hi! I haven’t purchased anything at a yard sale. We had one of our own and found that the brownies went faster than anything.

  12. Carly permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:39 pm

    Yard sales are fun, though I enjoy having them more so that going to them. That said, I rarely buy anything, but once I found a great polo type dress.

  13. April 11, 2010 9:29 pm

    The best thing I’ve found was a couple of upholstered chairs (at different garage sales) that now reside in our bedroom. They’re kind of funky and vintage, and after a quick vacuuming and a little Febreze, they were as good as new!

  14. mic permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:59 am

    a kate spade bag:-)

  15. Claire permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:01 am

    Lemon bars are my favorite dessert in the whole world, and that’s saying something since I have one heck of a sweet tooth and have never met a dessert I didn’t like. I was going to comment that I use Barefoot Contessa’s recipe when I noticed that you do too. My lemon bars look different from the one in your picture, the ratio of crust to lemon cream is much heavier on the lemon in my case.

    Anyway, my best find at a garage sale has been a sweet wicker porch swing. It sounds old and weird, but it looks charming and I love giving a new life to other people’s rejects. One person’s trash is another person’s treasure, right?

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      April 12, 2010 8:37 am

      Smitten Kitchen had two variations on Barefoot Contessa’s recipe. One with a thicker lemon filling and one with a thinner one. I went with the thin style!

  16. Melissa permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:10 am

    Hi Branny! I found an electric cheese grater at a yard sale for $1 a few years ago…. it works awesome and I LOVE it!

  17. April 12, 2010 8:13 am

    We don’t really shop garage sales, although I don’t know why not. But Hi!

  18. April 12, 2010 8:48 am

    Hi Branny! My BFF and our moms used to go “tag-saling” all the time in the summers when we were little. Our moms were so cute, they would buy the newspaper on Friday and highlight all the tag sales, then map out the best route to take on Saturday morning to hit all of them. I don’t remember ever finding anything good, but apparently the memories stuck!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      April 12, 2010 9:02 am

      I have the same memory about getting the paper and mapping our route. Such fun!

  19. Kate permalink
    April 12, 2010 10:34 am

    I love lemon bars! Always looking for another recipe for them. That was one of my favorite college-dining-hall desserts. I’m sure these are way better, even. 🙂 As for garage sale finds, i am most proud of my 4-cup coffee pot, marked $5, and the matching filters, marked $1. I told the seller I’d give them $5 for both, they agreed, and I walked out like I’d won the lotto.

  20. Monica J permalink
    April 12, 2010 10:54 am

    My best garage sale find so far was a cool ashtray i got for .25 That thing is so sturdy, we still use it to this day!

  21. April 12, 2010 10:54 am

    I have not bought anything at a garage sale but we just bought a house and I am looking forward to the garage sales this summer!

  22. Cate permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:21 am

    Well, i got two pairs of shoes in my size for 5 dollars once. They were brand new, in the box. real fancy like. But I haven’t actually worn them, because I’m not a very fancy person. So maybe that’s not a very good story.

  23. April 14, 2010 12:24 pm

    I like to go to garage sales but I never really find anything great. Except for last spring my husband and I went to a fundraising sale at a school. Someone had donated a brand new really nice golf bag. The ladies who were running the sale obviously did not know its value (Ha, who am I kidding, I didn’t either…good thing my husband was there) and they sold it to us for $20.00 Score!

  24. Lauren B. permalink
    April 14, 2010 3:29 pm

    I love to have a yard sale – not necessarily peruse them. Once, we had a joined yard sale with my parents and my dad decided that every family who shopped would receive a free gift with/without purchase – a stuffed animal 🙂 You should’ve seen the looks on the little kids faces when they found out the stuffed animal was *free*!

  25. mama permalink
    April 15, 2010 2:31 pm

    i go to flea markets, it is more efficient. a hundred people are having a garage sale there. i buy almost all that i own in those flea markets. what was the best deal? maybe two metal gliders (from the 1940s) and two matching metal chairs for 40 bucks. the best metal glider i have was from the dumpster, however. free. i have seen these things cost hundreds in atlanta.

  26. Jennifer permalink
    April 15, 2010 6:19 pm

    I love garage sale season! And flea markets! My best find so far this year has been a whole case of antique canning jars with the glass lids for $5! They’re my new storage for grains … love them!

  27. Stacy permalink
    April 15, 2010 6:44 pm

    I got a boppy pillow for $1 and it was like new!

  28. April 16, 2010 10:58 am

    I honestly can’t remember if I’ve had a great garage sale find. I always look for good finds but haven’t come across any!

  29. April 16, 2010 10:59 am

    I found a great coffee table and end table for $20 – this was right before the hubs and I got married – it was perfect timing!

  30. April 16, 2010 11:11 am

    I haven’t been to a garage sale in years. We’re doing one this year to clean the crap out of our house, though, and I can’t wait to get rid of it all!

  31. April 16, 2010 11:23 am

    I have not been to garage sales in YEARS. I did get a great table & chairs though. I’ve had my eye on this book & would love it!

  32. Erin permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:50 am

    When I was little, I went with my mom and grandmother to a garage sale and got a brand new Land’s End coat for $5!! My grandmother has no shame in negotiating 🙂 I wore that purple coat all winter for a couple of years.

    I’ve been cooking more vegetarian meals lately, so this cookbook would be fabulous!

  33. Sarah permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:58 am

    I have never had luck at garage sales but my friend comes home with great things all the time. Her best find was a KA stand mixer new, in the box for $20! Green with envy!

  34. April 16, 2010 12:19 pm

    When I was a kid I remember finding a brand new Monopoly Junior (no joke, the little plastic packages inside were still sealed) for 50 cents!! Totally made my day!

  35. AlisonJ permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:10 pm

    I have gotten a lot of great finds over the years at garage sales – I love going to them! Not sure of my best find, but my mom got her china 37 years ago at a garage sale for $50 – entire set of Noritake china – from a woman who was getting a divorce & didn’t want any of it! I’d say that is a great deal!!!

  36. sherrilee permalink
    April 16, 2010 4:01 pm

    My best garage sale find was the dresser in our Master bedroom. It was $20! It is from the 50’s. Blonde wood. Gorgeous, well made and huge! The only bad part was loading it into my car at 8 months preggo.

  37. Laura permalink
    April 16, 2010 6:14 pm

    My favorite yard sale find was a small lilac shrub… we planted it in our yard about 5 years ago, and it still hasn’t flowered yet, but it’s so cute anyway 🙂

    Love your blog!

  38. April 16, 2010 9:50 pm

    We found a cute vintage mickey mouse poster that we framed once! Great giveaway!

Leave a Reply

