Skip to content

Avocado Hummus

April 18, 2010

I think people pigeonhole themselves with avocados most of the time.  I guess it is easy to get stuck in the guacamole = avocado box.  Guacamole is easy, delicious, and versatile so I can totally see how it can be difficult to jump the guacamole bandwagon.  But for me, avocado becomes a challenge.

I buy these fruits pretty often and can honestly say I cannot remember a time that I actually made guacamole.  Usually I include avocado slices raw on salads, sandwiches, or in pasta salads.  Finding a recipe for this grocery item is usually not a concern.


But when I haven’t gotten around to eating the avocado in her most natural state, I tend to get a little stubborn with this ingredient and use it for quite possibly use other than as a chip-dip.  Until now.

Other avocado incarnations on Branny Boils Over:
Avocado Cashew Burritos
Avocado and Egg Salad
Avocado Pasta Salad
Greek Quinoa with Feta and Avocados
Quinoa with Grilled Zucchini and Avocado Dressing
Avocado Quick Bread
Avocado Black Bean Brownies
Avocado Buttercream Frosting

GarbanzoMole
1 haas avocado
1 3/4 cup chick peas (equivalent of 1 15 oz. can)
2 garlic cloves
2 T fresh lemon juice
1 t cumin
1/2 t salt
1/4 – 1/2 cup water or broth

In your food processor, mince garlic cloves.  Add chick peas and puree until they reach a rough paste.  Add lemon juice, cumin, and salt.  Pulse.  Add chunks of avocado and puree until thoroughly combined.  Add 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup water to reach your desired dip consistency.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 10:39 am

    Very creative combo, I love it!

  2. April 19, 2010 8:49 pm

    I totally agree with you – we go through a few avocados each week and never make guac!

  3. April 30, 2010 5:59 pm

    Oh my. This is truly delicious. I’m enjoying a bowl right now. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

