Skip to content

Diet Day 1

May 2, 2010

I had a question in my comments as to why my doctor suggested this.  Sounds like some kooky weight-loss scheme, eh?  Well rather than you readers come up with your own hypotheses as to why I’m doing this (I married an iron-fisted Omnivore, I’m craving a beach body for an upcoming vacation, I’m just plain dumb) I’ll just go ahead and give a brief history.

I have congenital pernicious anemia.

Pernicious anemia is a decrease in red blood cells that occurs when the body cannot properly absorb vitamin B12 from the gastrointestinal tract. Vitamin B12 is necessary for the proper development of red blood cells.  Too little vitamin B12 gradually causes nervous system (neurological) problems.

Pernicious anemia is caused by a lack of intrinsic factor. Intrinsic factor is a protein produced by the stomach that binds to vitamin B12. The combination of vitamin B12 and intrinsic factor is absorbed in the lower part of the small intestine. When the stomach does not make enough intrinsic factor, the intestine cannot properly absorb vitamin B12.

(source: Google Health)

Now, that’s all fine a dandy with me.  Treatment consists of simple injections, life goes on, marathons are run (or almost).

With my injections, my B12 levels are pretty-as-pie.  But a look at more bloodwork 3 years after pernicious anemia diagnosis leaves my doctor thinking I’ve got greater absorption issues.  Meaning, I’m not absorbing other vital micronutrients via my GI tract (TMI?).

So this fruit-and-vegetable-only diet is to cleanse my GI tract for a more scientific elimination diet slated to begin in two weeks.  That diet will help eliminate any sources of mild-intolerance/allergies triggering immune responses in my body leading to bad absorption.

More importantly, will I still be cooking for the Omnivore?

Apparently, I don’t have to, because when he shared my diet-friendly lunch with me, he was groaning and grumbling in pleasure.

Corn, red onion, cucumber, tomato, avocado, Spanish olives and a lemon juice dressing over baby spinach.

But, actually, yes, I’m still cooking for him.  I love to cook, after all, and I spent years cooking meat for him without tasting the result, so obviously I have no real problem cooking and not sampling.

So how did my first day go?

I wasn’t hungry.  That’s great news!  But the coffee withdrawal had me sleeping through about 6 hours of the day.

Now I’m on day 2.  And I’m still not hungry.  This diet would have been harder for most, but I already had such a clean, fruit and veggie filled diet that it isn’t too difficult.  (Ask me the same question in 8 days).

The coffee withdrawal is better.  I was able to go for a run in the heat and have only had a slight headache to remind me of my cup o’ joe.

One Year Ago: Ravioli Made Three Ways

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 11:56 pm

    Oooh, avocado. Suddenly this diet doesn’t seem so bad!

    Heh. 12 more days…

  2. May 3, 2010 10:21 am

    Your lunch looks pretty awesome! I hope you keep posting pictures of your meals because I especially enjoy reading your commentary!

  3. jen permalink
    May 3, 2010 11:01 am

    Thanks, my curiosity is satisfied! 🙂 Your lunch looks SO GOOD!!!

Leave a Reply

