Skip to content

Diet Update 2 and 3

May 4, 2010

I think I’m over the hump.

The OMG-GIVE-ME-A-FREAKING-HOT-DOG-BUN-OR-ANYTHING-CARBOLICIOUS hump.

It was tough.  Day 2 was mostly achy.  Caffeine withdrawal?  I dunno.  Day three was better, but I felt very unfulfilled.  Not hungry but not comfortable either.  I accidentally ate all of the bananas I’d purchased for the Omnivore (I’m not a huge fan of bananas and they are the only fruit he will easily eat) because I couldn’t bear eating 4 apples in one day.

The Omnivore grilled something meaty and delicious on Day 2 and I grilled veggies.  I threw in a rosemary sprig (that counts as a veggie, right? and I didn’t eat it anyway) for some more flavor.

For breakfast/brunch the next day, I had caramelized leeks.  And then I had roasted eggplant, garlic, mushrooms, and onions for lunch.  These two cooking methods add a lot of flavor despite my extreme restrictions.

I’ve been snacking on fruits simply because I prefer a warm meal to eat with the Omnivore and that’s difficult to accomplish with fruit.  And I’ll be going back to the grocery store soon because I’m chowing through the fruits and veggies way faster than I anticipated when I went grocery shopping this 4 days ago.

One Year Ago: Veggie Loaded Red Beans and Rice

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 8:56 am

    Hey there – just wanted to say you’re doing great with this cleanse.
    I also was reading The Kind Life website the other day, they post stories from people that have gone vegan/vegetarian, etc. All based on Alicia Silverstone’s Book.

    ANYWHO… point.
    I read this post yesterday from someone and it made me think of you and what your’e going through – not that its anywhere the same things- but the fact that she suffered for SO long with illnesses and pain and problems with her body and then going vegan completely helped her.
    just food for though – fruits and veggies for thought that is I guess!!
    http://www.thekindlife.com/post/a-very-inspiring-success-story
    that’s the link if you’re interested.
    Keep up the great work – I know it can’t be easy!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      May 5, 2010 9:22 am

      Thank you, stephany, for the link. I’ll go check it out. My doctor offered me the “supplement way out” but I’d rather get down to the cause of these weird blood values.

  2. May 5, 2010 10:09 am

    So are you getting enough to eat, or are you hungry? Do you have any idea how many calories you’re eating per day? Can you use oil? Seems like it would be tricky to roast and caramelize vegetables without it.

  3. jen permalink
    May 5, 2010 10:33 am

    I am super impressed by how well you’re doing! I think I would be eating every 15min if I had to do that. Your grilled veggies look delicious 🙂

  4. May 5, 2010 11:58 am

    I’m so sorry you’re having to do this – I can imagine how cranky I would get only eating fruits and veggies. I’m really impressed by your meals so far – good luck during the next couple of weeks!

  5. May 6, 2010 9:38 am

    Your meals look really tasty in spite of only having fruits and vegetables! I am really impressed by your willpower. I think I would have cracked by now. I wonder how the increased fruit and veggie consumption will affect your grocery budget?

Leave a Reply

