Skip to content

Am I on Day 5?

May 5, 2010

Day five of my diet.  Wow.  That’s gone by quickly.  I’ll answer a few questions and post a few things I’ve noticed.

1) My stomach as shrunken.  A granny smith apple filled me up for breakfast this morning.  It held me over for 3 hours.  In the past, I would have eaten oatmeal, eggs, AND an apple during that time period.  That’s crazy.

2) I can tell a bigger difference between hunger and thirst.  I think in the past those two cravings had a very blurry line between them.  Not anymore.

3) I crave more things at night.  I am hungrier at night.  From 8am until 6pm I do just fine – trekking along eating my fruits and my veggies.  It isn’t like I don’t LOVE fruits and vegetables.  So that’s easy.  But come 6 o’clock, I start wanting something more.  Maybe it is because I cook dinner for the kids I nanny at 6.  Then I come home and cook dinner for the Omnivore at 7:15.  After cooking two meals I can’t consume (but want to!) no heaping bowl of steamed squash can hold me over.  I make it to bedtime on willpower alone.

4) Am I counting calories?  Absolutely not.  I am already thinking about food all the time.  I don’t want to add another dimension there.  And I’m already limiting so much stuff, I don’t want to bother with limiting calories too.

5) How can I eat a big fat piece of chocolate cake after this?  I cannot even fathom that.  I don’t even crave that.  I don’t want that.  I am craving brown rice.  Or cous cous.  Or oatmeal.

6) How long does this last?  My doctor recommended 14 days but said I could quit after 7 if I wanted.

One Year Ago: Coffee Cake Muffins

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 12:00 am

    It’s so easy to confuse hunger and thirst!
    I always say to people, food is hard to avoid. As someone who is seriously addicted to food, I know that all too well. If you’re an alcoholic you never have to have a drink again, but I have to eat every day. I feel your pain with having to cook 2 meals, and not eat them 🙂 I know your circumstances are much different, but the general rule applies!

Leave a Reply

