Skip to content

Day 7 and the Domino Effect

May 7, 2010

So it is Day 7.  I received word from my doctor yesterday that I can eat dried beans this coming week.

In true Branny form, though, I am not sure I want to go that route yet.  Maybe I’ll stick the plan out as is.  Here’s the deal:

In the past seven days I’ve lost 5 things very important to me, leading to a case of the blues

1) Quitting coffee cold turkey! I’ve been drinking coffee since I was about 16 years old.  This was a daily habit.  Coffee was my only chemical vice.  And just like that, GONE.  Who on earth would ever feel good about that?

2) Quitting cooking. No creativity for myself.  I’ve been cooking, yes, but they’ve been meals that are old quick standbys.  Of course I’ll be depressed by that.

3) Quitting wheat, meat, dairy, and, well, everything! Bam.  Just like that.  Enough said.

4) Quitting running. Now that wasn’t intentional.  But 3 weeks ago I was logging 25-30 miles a week and this week I’ve only had the energy to complete 7 miles.  Where are my endorphins?

5) Quitting the Omnivore. Job obligations having me spending more time out of the home (including lonely nights in a bed far, far away from home) than in the home.  I see the ‘Vore daily, but I miss him.  And the dogs and that feline friend, too.

I’ve also added one very important thing, too.  Supplements: hormones, vitamins, minerals.  All must have synergistic effect and make me a different person.

So, today is Friday, and I’ve started out on the right foot.

I took sweet Flo on a walk and made a plan.  As soon as the 1 miler was over, I dropped her off at home, and went for a run.

Exercise endorphins, check!  It was hard.  I had low energy and a low pace.  But I need to get back in the game.

Next?  I’m making homemade pizza dough and a butt-kicking meatball pizza for the Omnivore’s dinner tonight.  Baking bread is what got me in the kitchen in the first place.  So what if I don’t eat the results?  That’s something I’m used to.  Then, I’m making these cookies.

Then I’m cleaning the house, because, well, that’s got to be done no matter what.

So no beans in my plans for today.  We’ll see how I feel.

And to answer the question about my grocery budget: yes, eating this way has caused me to spend more money.  Before this diet, I never, EVER went to the market midweek.   But I’ve chowed through my stores of fruits and veggies and found myself at 9pm on Wednesday night stocking up on bananas and pears.  And besides, grains are cheaper per pound than veggies and fruits.  So grains are more rarely eaten, costs go up!  Darn it.

One Year Ago: Lentil and Pepper Runzas

One Comment leave one →
  1. sherrilee permalink
    May 7, 2010 9:23 pm

    It’s been very interesting to hear how this diet is going for you.
    I’m sure it IS very expensive!
    Just wanted to thank you for the cook book.
    It is awesome! I have found SO many things I can not wait to make!!

Leave a Reply

