Skip to content

Microwave Popcorn

May 23, 2010

People.  We’ve been duped.  Seriously.  We have all just taken it as a given that to make popcorn at home in your microwave, you are at the mercy of the microwave popcorn food industry.

We’ve been forced into buying those special little bags (what’s so special about them anyway?) with a portion size too large for a single person’s serving (unless you buy the minibags, which cost more, *scowl!*).  We’ve been strong-armed into these companies’ choices of seasonings (butter, fake butter, and more butter) all because we thought there was no other way.

The Omnivore and I always bought the lower-fat, less-butter microwave popcorn bags until we purchased one of these back in June of 2006.

It broke in July of 2006.  Rats.

So, I picked one of these up at a second-hand store.  The day was saved *heroic fistpump.*

Inherent to this type of popcorn-making machine, though, is the addition of a significant amount of butter and oil.  Popcorn eating became less frequent and more indulgent around the house o’ Branny.  And then it became non-existent.  The old Whirly-Pop broke.  It was claimed by the dishwasher.

And the Omnivore and I, well, we’re stubborn.  We’d made the break from microwave popcorn and we weren’t going back.  But we were craving tender white kernels.

And then my dear husband developed a skill that I could never match in the kitchen.  He began making stovetop popped corn with merely a stainless steel soup pot and a glass lid.  Why could I never manage to master this?  I refused to be as heavy-handed with the SmartBalance “butter” required to get those kernels popping.  The Omnivore’s love affair with popcorn flourished.  Mine fizzled and died.

That stuff was too darn delicious and too darn bad for me.

And then I got to thinking.  What’s so special about microwave popping corn anyway?  Can I recreate it at home?  What do I have to lose?  (only an expensive microwave, I guess).  So I started googling.  And I discovered I could make popcorn with no added oils, fats, or flavorings in my own home!  And I got angry at the microwave popcorn conspirators companies.  And I got over that quickly, because my homemade popcorn is just peace, love, and lollipops.

One Year Ago: Crash hot Potatoes

Homemade Microwave Popcorn (1 serving)
1/4 cup white popping corn
brown paper bag

optional additions: olive oil, salt, garlic salt, parmesean cheese, cayenne pepper, cinnamon and sugar

Place popping corn into a brown paper bag.  Add 1 tsp of oil, if desired but the addition is not necessary for effective popping.  Add 1/4 tsp salt, if desired.  Fold lip of bag over tightly and refold one time further.  Place folded side down in your microwave.

Microwave at full power for 2 minutes and 30 seconds or until popping sounds are infrequent, about 2 seconds between pops.

You may adorn popcorn after popping with seasonings, butter, or other oils of your choosing.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 7:14 pm

    I love popcorn, but don’t have a microwave, and my dog ate the plastic top of the air popper a few years ago and we never replaced it. I just do the stovetop saucepan and lid thing…I just use a little canola oil (your really don’t need much!) and then put nutritional yeast on it. YUMM.

    Anyway… I had NO idea you could microwave popcorn in a paper bag! I bet the people who sell microwave popcorn don’t want that secret getting out!

  2. themilkmanswife permalink
    May 23, 2010 7:58 pm

    This is ingenious! I can’t wait to give this a try. Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. Aimee permalink
    May 24, 2010 12:43 am

    This is amazing. You literally just changed my life! I love popcorn and refuse to give it up. I just tried this without oil or butter and it was amazing!! Thank you for sharing this!

  4. May 24, 2010 8:30 am

    Love it! This was the only way I was allowed to eat popcorn growing up because my mom was convinced that we would get cancer from the fake butter and chemicals in the store bought microwave popcorn bags and that we would get heart disease from popping in butter or oil.

    I really like how the popcorn remains low fat/calorie and is a clean slate for flavoring with all kinds of stuff. My favorite lately is to dip my popcorn in white balsamic vinegar. I guess I like sweet and tangy popcorn.

  5. May 24, 2010 9:39 am

    I’m totally a victim of microwave popcorn, specifically Jolly Time Healthy Pop kettle corn (it’s also one of a handful of reasons I haven’t fully given up artificial sweeteners!). So much so that when our grocery store stopped carrying this flavor, my husband and I started buying it online, in bulk. I’m sure we still have quite the stash to work through, but I definitely need to try making my own once it’s gone!

  6. thecookingnurse permalink
    May 24, 2010 11:15 am

    Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to try this when my popcorn stash runs out!

    • thecookingnurse permalink
      November 7, 2010 3:47 pm

      I finally tried this and I loved it! I won’t be buying microwave popcorn anymore!

  7. May 24, 2010 5:23 pm

    Definitely going to try this method – thanks for letting us know!

  8. May 25, 2010 12:16 pm

    Branny, you rock… thank you for putting your microwave at risk for our benefit. Can’t wait to try this!

  9. Aimee permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:54 am

    Other than the corny goodness, the bag can be reused over and over and then recycled!!! Way 2 go Branny!!

Trackbacks

  1. Microwave Popcorn « the cooking nurse

Leave a Reply

