Skip to content

French Silk Pie

June 13, 2010

People often complain about lacking the motivation to exercise.  I guess I’m lucky: this has never been an issue for me.  It isn’t that I’m a super self-motivated individual, either.  For instances, I cannot stand clipping my fingernails.  I will do nearly anything to avoid that chore.  I’ll go jogging for 2 hours just to delay having to sit down for 2 minutes to trim my nails.

I also lack the motivation to make pie.  I have a sneaking suspicion that the lack of motivation to make fattening desserts is not as common as the lack of motivation to run around in the blistering sun for no apparent reason.

For awhile, I blamed the lack of pies in my life on the fact that I didn’t own a pie plate.  And then I bought a pie plate.  And there were still no pies.  Not that it really mattered, of course.  The Omnivore claims to not like pie.  He especially avoids pumpkin pie (which would be my favorite, if I had to choose) and pecan pie (which would also be my favorite, if I had to choose).  He can’t be bothered with messy fruit-filled pie, and quite frankly, pie just isn’t chocolatey enough for him.  So, I made no pies.

And then I joined the You Want Pies with That? blogging group.  Once a month, we are forced into pie production.  Strong armed, really.  There are super strict consequences should you not participate.  Something to do with force-clipping your fingernails, I’ve heard.

For the month of June, the theme instructed us to make a pie based on our favorite summertime drink.

So I based my pie off of a delicious chocolate milkshake, because, well, the Omnivore only perked his ears up at the mention of chocolate pie, and he was the only one really eating the pie, so…yeah.

Oh, by the way, taking pictures of a chilled pie with fresh whipped cream on a weltering summer day led to less than stellar picture results.  Hello melting!  Hello steamy camera lens!  Goodbye pie, melting away to oblivion!

I could have done a round two photoshoot, I realize, by the pie was devoured amidst groans of pleasure.  Them mellow chocolate filling, with its perfectly silk consistency, was just irresistible.

One Year Ago: Not Yo Mama’s Potato Salad

French Silk Pie (Betty Crocker)

1 9″ baked pie crust
1/4 cup butter
3 oz unsweetened baking chocolate
1 cup sugar
3 T cornstarch
3 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup heavy whipping cream
additional whip cream for garnish

Melt butter and chocolate in a double boiler over low heat, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat.  Mix sugar with cornstarch and stir into chocolate mixture.

Beat eggs in a small bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed until thick and lemon colored.  Stir eggs into chocolate mixture.  Return chocolate mixture to double boiler and cook 5 minutes, stirring constantly, until thick and glossy.  Stir in vanilla.  Remove from heat and allow to cool 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Beat whipping cream in a chilled electric mixer bowl on high speed until stiff.  Fold chocolate into whipped cream.  Spread into baked pie shell.  Cover and refrigerate 4 hours or until set.  Garnish with whipped cream.  Keep refrigerated.

**to make a Mocha French Silk Pie, stir in 2 tsp of instant coffee with the chocolate**

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 10:57 pm

    Oh man…I have not had French Silk Pie in years! This looks fabulous!

  2. June 14, 2010 12:22 pm

    Mmmmmmmmm, chocolate milkshakes! Yum. That is indeed one of the best things to drink on a hot summer day…I love it! Your pie looks super delicious…yum!

  3. June 14, 2010 2:22 pm

    This sounds so delicious on a hot day! I have the same problem with the heat and cold desserts- it’s not the best for pictures but fortunately my family doesn’t mind as much as I do what the final product looks like! Thanks for the fun recipe!

  4. June 14, 2010 6:48 pm

    One of my favorite pies of all time will always be french silk, so I’m just happy you got to have it whether it melted under your camera or not hehe.

  5. themilkmanswife permalink
    June 14, 2010 7:34 pm

    My hubby has been begging me to make a french silk pie for him. I will have to try this soon. He will LOVE it. Thanks for sharing. I love your interpretation of this month’s theme. 🙂

  6. June 14, 2010 9:59 pm

    heh. I had melty whipped cream issues too. Dah well. This is sounding really good right now…

  7. June 15, 2010 5:34 pm

    I joined YWPWT to force myself to make pie, too. Although my boyfriend LOVES fruit pies, so really, I have no excuse besides the fact that making pie is…hard. And a milkshake! Brilliant inspiration!

  8. Melissa permalink
    July 3, 2010 6:00 pm

    This recipe looks great!! I love French silk pie – I can’t wait to make this!
    Btw, I love your blog! It always cracks me up! 🙂

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      July 4, 2010 9:06 am

      Thanks, Melissa!

Leave a Reply

