Skip to content

Cauliflower Kuku

July 6, 2010

So, I just wrote a post about how I don’t bother with food blogs that fail to include a picture of the finished product.  And then what happens to me?  I stumbled across a blog loaded with my kind of recipes and not a single photo.  And now I’m kicking myself in the rear.  How many hidden jewels have I omitted due to my unfair bloggism?

Of course, if this recipe hadn’t turned out so deliciously, I’d probably still be bashing photoless blogs.  But that’s not what happened.

This frittata-like main dish comes from Persia.  It cooks fairly quickly, especially if your cauliflower is precooked.  The flavors are complex and wonderful and the color is so fresh and inviting!

I halved the recipe below and made it in a 9″ skillet.  It allowed for three nice servings.

Cauliflower Kuku (seen here, adapted from Silk Road Cooking: A vegetarian journey)
6 eggs
1/2 t. baking powder
1 T. flour or bread crumbs
1/2 c. milk
1/2 c. Parmesan cheese or fresh mozzarella shredded
1 small sweet onion thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic crushed
1 small head of cauliflower coarsely chopped
1 t. salt
1/2 t. black pepper
1 t. ground cumin
1/4 t. sweet paprika
1/4 t. turmeric
1/8 t. cayenne
1/4 c. chopped fresh parsley or basil

Break the eggs into a mixing bowl, add the baking powder, flour, milk and cheese. Whisk lightly.

Heat the oil in a medium nonstick skillet over low heat. Add the onion and stir-fry for 5 minutes until translucent. Add the garlic, cauliflower, salt, pepper, cumin, paprika, turmeric, chili and parsley. Stir-fry for 5-10 minutes until the cauliflower is soft.

Pour the egg mixture over the cauliflower in the skillet. Cook over low heat 6-12 minutes until set.

Place the skillet under a preheated broiler for 1-3 minutes to brown the top.

Serve warm of cold.

4 servings, as written, at 300 calories per serving.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 8:40 am

    What a cool recipe! I’m a sucker for recipes with great names, but I’m with you on the no photo thing. Unless they’re fabulous recipes… such a dilemma!

  2. christenandjames permalink
    July 6, 2010 9:53 am

    my husband would love this, he adores cauliflower!

  3. July 6, 2010 1:13 pm

    That looks delicious. I love frittata-like recipes.

  4. July 6, 2010 5:20 pm

    This sounds really good. I’m always on the lookout for quick weeknight recipes – yum! I’m with you when it comes to blogs with no pictures, but I’m the same way about cookbooks now, too.

  5. July 6, 2010 10:55 pm

    I am so glad you posted this because I always forget about cauliflower as an option for dinner. Somehow it always clears off my radar but then I see it prepare in an appetizing way (on menu planning night none-the-less) and I want to bring it back into the rotation.

  6. July 7, 2010 7:30 pm

    This looks so good and different. LOVING the new look of your blog. Awesome!

  7. July 7, 2010 8:50 pm

    I’m glad YOU have a picture otherwise I would have passed over it too! Now I am really curious about the little bit of flour and baking powder to the egg mixture. I bet it puffs up really nicely.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      July 7, 2010 9:00 pm

      Yes, Cara, the puff is amazing. I think whenever making frittatas, I’ll make that addition.

  8. July 12, 2010 4:49 pm

    I’ve probably skipped over many great recipes because of blogs without photos, too, so I won’t judge! But this does look amazing!!

  9. Bethany permalink
    August 18, 2010 10:31 am

    Is sweet paprika different from regular paprika?

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      August 19, 2010 5:15 am

      Bethany – I believe that sweet paprika is different from regular paprika but regular paprika would be a good sub (just don’t use the hot stuff, way too spicy!).

      • Bethany permalink
        August 19, 2010 11:48 am

        Thanks!

Leave a Reply

