Skip to content

Nutty Cauliflower Skillet

July 17, 2010

Does anyone else find cauliflower incredibly hard to work with?  I would say that I almost dread cutting into a head of cauliflower.

I get out my largest cutting  board – so large that it won’t fit into the dishwasher.  I make sure to use my sharpest knife.  And I shoo everyone out of the kitchen so that I can give the cauliflower my undivided attention.

It always seems to crumble rather than cut.  Tiny little miniature florets go flying and everything ends up covered in tiny little cauliflower crumbs.

But no matter the mess I make of myself and the kitchen, if the recipe is a winner, I quickly forget the cauliflower mess (but not so quickly that I can’t write a blog post about it, right?) and enjoy the vegetable for the vegetable’s sake.

And boy did I enjoy it here.  I love peanut butter and that flavor really complimented the spices used here.  I think it would have been delicious with 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper added as well.

One Year Ago: Succotash

Nutty Cauliflower Skillet (4 servings, adapted from Simply in Season, seen here)
1 Tbs Ginger-root; fresh; minced
2 cloves garlic clove, minced
1 onion, diced
1 head cauliflower, chopped into florets
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 tomatoes, diced
1 cup peas (I used frozen)
3 Tbs peanut butter

Spray a large skillet with cooking spray.  Saute onion until soft and fragrant, about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and ginger and cook gently.  Add cauliflower florets, all spices, frozen peas, and tomatoes.  Cook, stirring occasionally, 10 minutes until cauliflower is soft when pierced with a fork.  Stir in peanut butter and keep on heat until melted and vegetables are coated.  Garnish with scallions, peanuts, and cilantro.

Per serving
Calories 162.9
Total Fat 6.8 g
Saturated Fat 1.3 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.0 g
Monounsaturated Fat 3.0 g
Cholesterol 0.0 mg
Sodium 146.2 mg
Potassium 768.8 mg
Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
Sugars 1.9 g
Protein 8.7 g
10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 7:36 pm

    Ooh, I would eat that. And I agree about the cauli crumbs! They get *every*where.

  2. July 18, 2010 6:22 am

    so glad you liked it! This is one of my husband’s and my favorite recipes.

  3. July 18, 2010 9:19 am

    I love all of your cauliflower creations! This looks great!

  4. July 19, 2010 12:37 am

    Well hello! I stumbled across your blog and had to laugh out lot about the cons of cauliflower. I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets a tiny bit frustrated with it’s crumbly consistency.

    And then I kept reading, and reading all your recipes. I love the quick wit and of course everything looks divine. 🙂

  5. July 19, 2010 9:38 am

    This looks awesome! I would never have expected the peanut butter and those spices to blend so well together! This looks like a great dish using a bunch of flavors that I really should be using more – and it’s naturally gluten free! 🙂

  6. July 19, 2010 10:52 am

    Looks great! Cauliflower is so versatile. The dish seems like it has great flavor!

  7. July 19, 2010 3:41 pm

    Mmmmm, this looks fantastic. I can’t wait to try it.

  8. July 20, 2010 9:09 am

    ha! I totally feel the same way about cauliflower. This is a winning combination of flavors, I’m definitely bookmarking it. Thank, B!

  9. July 24, 2010 12:31 am

    Thanks for the encouraging words, Branny! I love your website (as a photographer, aesthetics strike me first) and the recipes too! I do see a certain Indian thing going with some of the dishes (cauliflower with peas, chick pea)

  10. Suz permalink
    August 9, 2010 6:49 pm

    Branny! I finally made the decision that I would actually make one of these meals I always tell myself that I will try out. I chose this one and I am quite happy with my choice! I also may have to try out some other recipes, since I don’t know if I can lay off the leftovers. I think it’ll be good cold too…

    I added noodles, some water, and extra coriander…or maybe it was cumin. Mmmm. I’m thinking about trying it with chick peas since I didn’t add the tomatoes and it would be more fun with another ingredient. I just didn’t know how I would do with peanut flavor on tomatoes. Perhaps I will get more courageous after trying a few more recipes! SO delicious!!

Leave a Reply

