Skip to content

Getting to know you

July 20, 2010

Cara at Cara’s Cravings passed this little exercise onto me.  I’d been debating doing a Q&A post with my readers for awhile.  It seems as if readers (other than mom, dad, and the Omnivore, you guys don’t count) may have some general questions about a day in the life of Branny.  Curiosity, ya know?  But I hesitated because I feared that the minute I dedicated an entire post to Ask me a question and I’ll answer it! the comment box at the bottom of the page would remain perpetually empty.  And I’d feel like a royal fool.

Luckily, this 5-question Getting-to-Know-You exercise lets me do most of the talking and you, the reader, can just lurk in the shadows, without needing to comment.  Of course additional questions are welcome.

1) What was on your To-Do list today:

  • go for a nice jog outside (13.3 miles completed).  This past weekend was actually my 1 yer anniversary of being a runner.  Prior to that I just focused on getting exercise: tennis, spinning, ellipitcal-sizing (??), whatever.  But I think I’m a runner now. 
  • stage the house for a Realtor who is taking pictures for our house listing
  • Go to the bank
  • Enjoy some time with the resident carnivores (pets!  Fahrney, the cat, not pictured)
  • Go to the DMV (WHY ME!?!?!  *tear*)

2) 5 Snacks you enjoy:

  • oatmeal
  • popcorn
  • fruit + cottage cheese
  • hummus and veggie dippers
  • apples

3) 5 Places you have lived:

  • A tiny starter home with my parents as an infant
  • my parents’ forever home for the rest of my childhood
  • dorms at college
  • my first home with my husband (trying to sell this sucker now!)
  • Nairobi, Kenya as an 11 year old for a summer with my best friend

4) What were you doing 5 years ago:

  • Got engaged
  • declared my Biology major
  • was on a collegiate crew team as a coxswain
  • adopted my gem-of-a-dog Flo (she’s now a certified Therapy Dog)
  • worked in a veterinary hospital

5) 5 things you would do if you were a Billionaire:

  • Give to the ASPCA – earmarked for Pit Bull Advocacy.  This is the Omnivore’s and my main cause.  This breed truly gets a bad rap by media and pop culture.  Many pit bulls are loving, dedicated pets and the entire breed as the potential to be man’s best friend.
  • Give to education causes (I’d let the Omnivore pick out his favorite – he’s in teaching)
  • Travel.  Visit places in the US first, then go abroad.  I feel like I’m so inclined to jump overseas for vacationing, but I’d really like to appreciate what America has to offer
  • Savings account.  I can’t help it!  I’m such a saver.
  • Take care of family, where applicable 😉

And now, I’m going to pass this list of questions onto 5 food bloggers:

Brit at Duke’s House
LovesToEat Foodblog
Kerstin at Cake, Batter, and Bowl
Erin at Milk & Honey
Ash at Delish

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    July 20, 2010 1:37 pm

    What a beautiful bride you were! Thanks for sharing the picture with us.

  2. July 20, 2010 7:06 pm

    I hate the DMV too! Why does it have to be so awful?

  3. July 21, 2010 9:07 am

    lol you refer to 13+ miles as a “nice job” that’s a i would keel over sort of distance. 🙂 clearly i’m not a runner! haha.

    i’ll try to participate!

  4. July 21, 2010 9:19 am

    I love the wedding pic! You two look SO happy =)

  5. crockpottuesdays permalink
    July 21, 2010 10:39 am

    I agree, your wedding pic is beautiful!

  6. July 21, 2010 8:26 pm

    Love the photos you included! And I think it’s so cool that you spent a summer in another country as such a young’n.

  7. busymomof1 permalink
    August 11, 2010 2:47 pm

    I just came across your blog today and I love it. I can’t wait to try many of your recipes. I also think it’s great that you would help with the ASPCA-for the Pit Bull Advocacy if/when you become a billonaire. I have 3 of them, one we rescued at 11 weeks and they are the best, loyal dogs. Even bringing a new baby into the home I was not worried one bit, even though everyone else was. Even strangers who see us walking them and pushing the stroller have made comments about how horrible it is to bring a baby up around these dogs. It’s very sad because they have done nothing wrong to anyone and because of the media and pop culture they get the bad rap. So as you can tell I appreciate anyone who is willing to give these dogs a chance. So Thank you!!

Trackbacks

  1. Getting to Know You (Or Me Anyway) « Duke's House
  2. Wheat Peach Shortcake Cookies — Delish

Leave a Reply

