Skip to content

Guacamole Salad

July 24, 2010

I absolutely ADORE New York City.  It’s my gut response to any question regarding where I want my next vacation.  It is my automatic remark about my most memorable trip.  My parents endowed me with this love by cramming me into their vehicles many Christmas, Thanksgivings, and Summers for a trip to the big Apple.

My dad prepared me for trips to the city by serenading me with tunes from the Broadway shows-to-be-seen.  Before I had set foot on the streets of Broadway, I knew the opening line to The Phantom of the Opera, the chorus line to Miss Saigon‘s most popular song, and the soulful story behind Les Miserables.

Once we arrived at the city, my dad and I would stake out the TKTS line in Times Square.

It was always an adventure: we never knew what show we’d score tickets for, how much we were going to pay, and how good (or lousy) our seats would be.  Naturally, when the Omnivore and I took our first solo trip to NYC, I tried to recreate the experience of waiting in the freezing cold traffic to purchase tickets of an unknown destination at 1/2 price.  My dear Omnivore didn’t find it quite as romantic as I did.  He’s a good sport, though.

Along the wait, he began chattin’ it up with surrounding Broadway show-lovers.  There was one couple in line behind us, visiting NYC in celebration of their 50th wedding anniversary.  My husband got to the heart of the matter quickly:

How the heck have you guys managed to stay married for so long?

95% of everything, he said, doesn’t matter.

Good advice. I pull that line out during arguments all.the.time.

In 50 years when the Omnivore and I are standing in the TKTS line, I know what my response will be to the young chap asking me why I put up with my husband for 5 decades:

Versatility. And that’s exactly what my marriage has in common with this recipe.

This stuff is addictive.  And versatile.  Eat it with tortilla chips.  Use it as a topping for tacos.  Grab a fork and dig in.  Any way you approach it, the results are the same: absolute perfection.  The first time I made it, I so wished I had doubled the recipe.  So, I made it again within a few days.  You go right ahead a double it, honey, or else you’ll have a craving you can’t satisfy soon enough.

One Year Ago: Black Bean and Corn Creamchiladas

Guacamole Salad (4 servings, adapted from Barefoot Contessa, seen on Pink Parlsey)
1 large tomato, diced
1 Haas avocado, diced
1 yellow bell pepper, diced
1 cup black beans
2 scallions, sliced
2 t minced jalapeno pepper
1 small clove of garlic, minced
2 T lemon juice
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
pinch cayenne pepper

Combine first 7 ingredients in a large bowl.  Whisk together lemon juice, salt, and peppers.  Pour over salad.  Chill until ready to serve.

Per serving
Calories 155.1
Total Fat 7.2 g
Saturated Fat 1.0 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.0 g
Monounsaturated Fat 4.3 g
Total Carbohydrate 19.9 g
Protein 5.7 g

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 3:20 pm

    That looks awesome! Mmmm, avocado…

  2. July 25, 2010 11:10 am

    Wow, this looks so good – like a mexican variation of my favorite mediterranean pepper salad.

    I love NYC too! My husband lived in New Jersey for half a year or so, while I was in upstate NY, so we were able to take a train into the city once or twice a month. We never went to any shows though, which is a bummer. But we did eat a lot of fantastic food.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      July 25, 2010 1:28 pm

      No shows!? Oh Bridget, and now you’re so far away in the desert (at least it’s a dry heat, lol). Oh well. You’ll make it to Broadway one day. Hit the TKTS line for sure! Gotta love a bargain.

      And this salad will be a perfect side for your burgers tonight; enjoy! BTW – I made your Mediterranean pepper salad (sans feta) and it was delicious as well.

  3. July 25, 2010 11:21 am

    And, I just realized that I still kind of need a side dish for my green chile cheese(chicken)burgers tonight, and I have nearly all of the ingredients for this. Perfect!

  4. mama permalink
    July 26, 2010 8:44 am

    love the story, and the recipe. i will try it. oh man, sometimes i think the tickets line is the coldest place in the world!!

  5. July 26, 2010 10:10 am

    I went to NYC for the first time a couple years ago for my bachelorette party. Seeing a Broadway show was one of the highlights of the trip. Love the story about you and your dad braving the lines for tickets!

    And this guacamole salad looks amazing. Will definitely be making some version of this soon!

  6. Josie permalink
    July 28, 2010 12:48 pm

    Mmm this is one of mymost favorite sides ever!

Trackbacks

  1. Health and Food Forum's Blog
  2. Health for the Whole Self » Guacamole Salad

Leave a Reply

