Skip to content

Shrimp, olive, and artichoke salad

August 12, 2010

The Papavore got me back.

He told me he didn’t like black beans, and I proved him wrong by making him black bean and sweet potato burritos and turkey and black bean burgers.  He adored both meals.  He, therefore, likes black beans.  Success.

I told him that I didn’t *love* shrimp.  He made me Shrimp, Olive, and Artichoke Salad.  And I could hardly stop eating the stuff.  Revenge was so delicious.  And I, therefore, *love* shrimp.

One Year Ago: Hoppin’ John

Shrimp, Olive, and Artichoke Salad (4 hefty servings, adapted from here)

12 oz. shrimp, cleaned and peeled
3/4 cup black olives
14 oz canned artichoke hearts, drained
2 cups garbanzo beans
1 medium red onion, chopped
1/4 cup parsley
1/3 cup olive oil
2 T lemon juice
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/4 tsp cumin

Place shrimp in a saucepan with enough water to cover shrimp by about 1″.  Bring pot to a boil, turn off, and let cool.  Whisk together olive oil, cumin, crushed red pepper, and lemon juice.  Pour over shrimp.  Fold olives, garbanzo beans, parsley, red onion, and artichoke hearts and let mixture marinate 4 or more hours before serving.

4 servings
Calories 421.0
Total Fat 18.7 g
Protein 24.7 g


7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 5:59 am

    Beautiful salad! I already know I *love* shrimp, so I’m pretty sure I love this 🙂

  2. August 13, 2010 6:03 am

    This recipe looks great. So fresh and flavorful!

  3. August 13, 2010 6:44 am

    Looks delicious!! And I finally made the sweet potato/black bean burritos last night!! They were so good, and I think my 11 month old will love the leftovers tonight! Great flavor!

  4. Kris permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:12 am

    That looks so good! This looks great for a summer dinner.

  5. Notes from the Fatty File permalink
    August 13, 2010 11:05 am

    What an awesomely fresh, Mediterranean-fab meal. I am putting this on my list! Thank you.

  6. August 14, 2010 4:53 pm

    Love this idea! I think I’ll definitely try it soon (sans shrimp).

Trackbacks

  1. Shrimp Artichoke Salad | Health for the Whole Self

Leave a Reply

