Skip to content

Mexican Pepper Casserole

August 21, 2010

Look.  There they are again.  Black beans.

It is so weird – the minute the Papavore expresses his non-preference for black beans, I can’t get them out of my mind.  I’m just being drawn to them and cannot stop preparing them.  Luckily, the Papavore is being a good sport about it.  But the fact that I keep knowingly forcing black beans upon my dad doesn’t mean I fail to take into account his own eating preferences.

The recipe posted here, you see, has nothing to do with the black beans.  It’s all about the Mexican Pepper Casserole.  I chose to make this recipe for my dad because of it’s lack of carbohydrates coming from grains, flours, or corn.  He prefers to eat low-carb and because I apparently prefer to keep serving black beans against his will I decided I’d make up for my rudeness by choosing a recipe picked especially for him.


This hearty main dish or side dish consists of soft, sweet peppers and onions cooked in Mexican spices and topped with a tangy, creamy custard.  It feels rich, heavy, and carb-y, but isn’t really at all.  And we loved it.

Mexican Pepper Casserole (5 servings, adapted from The Moosewood Cookbook)
2 cups sliced onions
6 bell peppers (use a variety of colors), sliced
5 cloves garlic, minced
1.5 tsp cumin
2 tsp sweet chili powder
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp dry mustard
paprika
2 T whole wheat flour
2 large eggs
1 cup yogurt (non fat is fine)
1 cup sour cream (low fat is fine)
**you can use any combination of yogurt/sour cream equaling 2 cups

Preheat oven to 375*.  In a large pan, heated to medium heat and sprayed with cooking spray, saute onions 10 minutes, until soft.  Add garlic and bell peppers as well as cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper, salt, and mustard and cook 6-7 minutes until all vegetables are tender.  Add flour and cook 5 more minutes.  Pour pepper mixture into a 10″ casserole (or equivalent) sprayed with cook spray.

Beat two eggs and fold into sour cream and yogurt.  Pour over peppers.  Sprinkle liberally with paprika.  Place casserole in oven and bake uncovered for 35 minutes.  Let stand 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

Per serving
Calories 195.2
Total Fat 8.2 g
Protein 8.6 g

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 7:48 pm

    This looks yummy! I’m going to have to try it! 🙂

    • August 22, 2010 10:13 am

      Yum, I love black beans. I think they’d be great incorporated into this casserole. Looks great.

  2. Medi permalink
    August 31, 2010 8:03 pm

    I just made this and it was delicious. I love my vegetables but I always feel like I’m being cheated out of protein when I eat them but not with this dish. I used Greek yogurt; It was divine and the protein stats were excellent. This is going in the cookbook! Thanks for a great idea.

Leave a Reply

