Skip to content

Marinated Vegetable Kabobs

August 29, 2010

For those of you who haven’t been following my story, I’m no longer living with the Omnivore.  We live 1 state apart but we see each other as often as possible.  This weekend, I came home to cook in my own kitchen visit my dear hubby.

Whilst living together, the ‘Vore generally insisted we go out to eat for dinner during the weekend.  I generally dug my heels in, then decided that it was a battle not worth fighting, and conceded.

These days, though, the Omnivore is craving my cooking.  What a sweet man!

So, as I was brainstorming ideas of what to make for him during my short 36 hour stint in the same state, I decided it needed to be vegetable heavy.  I suspect he eats only carbs and meat while I’m gone.  I’ve gotta get some roughage in him!  And these vegetable kabobs were a wonderful way to do that.

The veggies marinated for about three hours while the Omnivore was out teaching yoga.  (Cool, or what?)  When he got home, I wiped the nap from my face, skewered the veggies, threw some corn on the grill, and within 20 minutes we were eating.  Perfect for spending more time together.

One Year Ago: Black Eyed Pea Salad

Marinade (inspired by this recipe)
1/4 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup water
2 T maple syrup
8 leaves of basil, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
pinch salt, pinch pepper

12 button mushrooms
1 red bell pepper
1 orange bell pepper
1 onion
1 zucchini

Clean and cut vegetables into kabob size.  Whisk together marinade ingredients and pour over cut veggies.  Toss to coat.  Let ingredients marinate for at least three hours, or overnight, before grilling.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 10:48 am

    Ooooh. These kabobs look delish. And I don’t think men have good diets when they don’t have a woman cooking for them at least some of the time. Yes, there are exceptions, but as a general rule, no. I think my husband would starve without me, to be honest.

    I have a post on some thoughts on vegetarianism, not sure if you’d find it interesting or not but thought I would mention it! 🙂

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      August 29, 2010 1:50 pm

      I’ll check it out! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

