Skip to content

Wilted Spinach Salad with Shrimp, Black beans, and Corn

August 31, 2010

I’m craving fast food lately.

I think it is the 2 hours and 30 minutes I spend in the car each day commuting to and from work.  But no, I’m not speaking of the deep-fried, comes-through-a-window variety of fast food.  I’m talking about quick-to-make food.

Let’s see.  I wake up at 5:15 am if I want to go for a run.  And since I am marathon training, there’s pretty much always a run in my schedule.  I’m starting the engine to my car by 6:40am so that I can arrive at work at 8am.

I work, on my feet, all.day.long. until about 6:30 pm.  And then I commute home.  So that means I’m finally taking a deep breath about 7:45pm.

Insert fast food craving here.

Discovering I like shrimp was a wonderful epiphany in my life.  Since these little buggars take all of 90 seconds to cook, I can throw together a meal like this faster than you can say, “Hell to the no, I don’t want fries with that.”

This recipe is a Mexican inspired wilted spinach salad with beans and shrimp thrown in for protein.  It is quick, easy, and great served warm or cold.

One Year Ago: Southwestern Cous Cous Salad

Wilted Spinach Salad with Beans, Shrimp, and Corn (4 servings)
1 pound shrimp, raw, peeled and deveined
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
pinch cayenne pepper
juice from a lemon

4 cups spinach
1 can black beans
1 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup cilantro
3 cloves garlic, smashed
salt and pepper

In a large bowl wash spinach and combine with rinsed beans and thawed corn.  Toss.

In a nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray over medium heat, add shrimp, cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper, and lemon juice.  Cook shrimp about 90 seconds, turning half way through, until fully cooked.  Add cilantro and garlic and stir to coat.  Toss mixture over spinach salad, allowing the heat of the shrimp to wilt the spinach.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Per serving
Calories 259.5
Total Fat 2.9
Protein 31.8 g

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

