Skip to content

Bean Burgers

September 12, 2010

Well, after having black bean and turkey burgers two times with the Papavore, I figured it was time to graduate him to my favorite type of burger.  The veggie burger 🙂  The weaning process was over and now it was time for the hot tamale.

I chose a bean burger recipe that had some of the best reviews out there just to make sure the meal would be enjoyed.  The Papavore, you see, had never even entertained the thought of slapping pureed beans cooked in the oven between two slices of bread and labeling it a “burger.”

Luckily, he’s got an open mind and a hungry belly.

But in the interest of full disclosure, I must tell you this: he didn’t enjoy the burgers as much as I did.  And he admitted he preferred a meat-laden alternative.  But I adored the recipe.  And the consistency was wonderful (which shocked me given the lack of a “binder” in the recipe).  No bean mash squirting out of the opposite end of the sandwich when you take a bite.

The flavor I loved most about this recipe was an adaptation I made from the original recipe: I replaced pepitas with roasted sesame seeds.

I also used white beans rather than black, but I encourage you to use whatever is available to you!  This is truly one of the best bean burgers out there and I won’t be searching for any other options.

One Year Ago: Cheesy Rice and Bean Strata
Vegan Bean Burgers
(4 burgers, adapted from here)
1 3/4 cup white beans, rinsed and drained
1 carrot, grated
1/4 cup dry rolled oats
2 T toasted sesame seeds
2 tsp olive oil
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

In the bowl of your food processor, add oats and pulse until coarsely ground.  Add sesame seeds.  Add grated carrot.  Add 1 1/4 cup of beans and turn the processor on.  Add spices and stream in olive oil.  Run processor until the mixture is doughy.  Transfer mixture to a bowl and fold in remaining 1/2 cup of beans.  With your hands, form patties and place on a baking sheet that has been sprayed with nonstick cooking spray.  Bake for 30 minutes, flipping burgers halfway through.

Per burger
Calories 182.2
Total Fat 5.3 g
Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
Protein 8.1 g

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 7:25 pm

    As much as I brag about my husband’s openness to eat whatever, he still prefers meat burgers to non-meat. I’ll have to see how this goes over

  2. Melissa permalink
    September 13, 2010 5:44 am

    I’ve never had a veggie burger (even though I try to eat vegetarian often) but I have to say that this recipe looks yummy!! Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

