Skip to content

Kale and Kidney Bean Enchiladas

September 25, 2010

I know.  You don’t have to tell me.  I lost half my readership at the title of this post.  No one ever likes kale.  And why should you?  It is never on restaurant menus.  It is barely even on the Food Network (not that real foodies watch that anyway, right?).

And, admittedly, my first introduction to this leafy green was in purchasing it as rabbit food for a pet.  So, yeah, not suitable for human consumption.  Wrong.

I honestly think that if you are unsure of kale, this is the best recipe I’ve eaten to try it out in.  The greens aren’t bitter at all (the major complaint of dark, leafy greens) and they are “masked” in delicious combination of beans, onions, garlic, and tomato sauce.

Plus, since they are enchiladas, they are wrapped in tortillas so your kiddos or less-than-willing-significant others cannot shout “eeewww” at their appearance on the dinner table (until, of course, the enchilada is sliced open, at which point you’ll have to summon your very best ‘Three Big Boy Bites!’ voice to get through dinner).  After three bites, if you make it to that number, you’ll have sold your dining partner on the idea of kale.  Promise.

Kale and Kidney Bean Enchiladas (serves 4)
1 bunch kale, washed, trimmed, chopped (8 cups loosely packed greens)
1 small onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 3/4 cup kidney beans (equivalent of 1 can), dark red is best
1 T hot sauce (I used Texas Pete)
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp salt
12 oz enchilada sauce, divided (homemade recipe in this post, canned is fine)
8 whole wheat fajita sized tortillas

Preheat oven to 350*.

In a skillet sprayed with cooking spray, saute onion until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add garlic, cumin, and salt.  Cook 2 minutes over low heat.  Add kale in handfuls.  As it cooks, it will wilt and reduce in size.  Add kidney beans and hot sauce.  Mix thoroughly.  Add 2 T of the enchilada sauce to this filling.

Pour 1/4 cup of enchilada sauce into the bottom of an oven proof dish.  Microwave tortillas for 10 seconds to make pliable, then add filling to tortillas and wrap, tucking ends in, into a cylindrical shape.  Line enchiladas up in the prepared baking dish.  Pour remaining enchilada sauce over all the tortillas and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Per serving (two enchiladas)
Calories 391.4
Total Fat 8.6 g
Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
Protein 17.7 g

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 9:53 am

    I don’t understand why kale and chard get no love… I adore them both! I made some similar enchiladas with pinto beans and they were awesome. I agree this is an easy way to get non kale-lovers on board!

  2. September 25, 2010 10:11 am

    In the past month I have had a few vegan enchiladas and both were equally great! One was tofu and the other was butternut squash. Kale and beans are my absolute favorite pairing! (I even posted a new recipe that included these two ingredients)
    sometimes I get a Mexican food craving so I am definitely saving this recipe! Thanks!

  3. sherrilee permalink
    September 26, 2010 9:53 am

    That’s funny! I was particularly excited to see a recipe with kale 🙂 I still have quite a bit in my garden and am kind of growing tired of kale chips! This looks great.

  4. September 27, 2010 5:16 pm

    What a delicious vegetarian dish. I love the contrast in colors.

  5. September 28, 2010 7:38 pm

    When I saw this title in my Google Reader I was rather hesitant, and as I clicked to open it, I was thinking about how I’m very intimidated of kale – so funny that you opened your post the way you did! 🙂

    I must get over my anxiety and give it a try. Have you tried kale chips? I heard they’re decent.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      September 29, 2010 12:00 pm

      I have not tried kale chips. I know I need to — there is no reason on earth why I wouldn’t like them! Thanks for the reminder.

  6. September 29, 2010 8:02 am

    So pretty!

  7. September 29, 2010 12:47 pm

    I keep seeing other recipes for kale. I have never tried anything with kale but I am starting to think it might be worth trying!

  8. October 11, 2010 5:22 pm

    What a ridiculously healthy & delicious looking meal. I would love it. My meat-loving man… probably not. PS. I love kale. 🙂

  9. wendi permalink
    December 30, 2010 11:58 pm

    Thank you is all I can say!!! Thank you Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

