Skip to content

Asian Bolognese

September 29, 2010

I really did not expect this meal to be as delicious as it actually was.  The blog from which I plucked the recipe had zero credit with me – meaning I’d never read it before nor did I know anyone who ever read it.  Yes, blogger friends, I know what other blogs you read.

And in addition to the blog have little more credit beyond its ability to make it onto FoodGawker or TasteSpotting or whichever site led me there, the recipe itself sounded a little oddball.  Asian Bolognese.

What does that even mean?  Asian bolognese?  What do you even do with that?

A brief Q&A:

Do you put it on pasta? Sure.
Does it have to be rice pasta? Nah.

Can you put it on other stuff? Yep.
Like what? I put it on spaghetti squash.  That’s pasta for people who’ve freaked themselves out by eating too much junk.  The original blogger topped freshly steamed green beans with it; that looks great.

Does it takes like soy sauce? Not at all.  It tastes like a complex, flavorful, subtly spicy tomato sauce.  In fact, let’s just take the word Asian right out of the equation because that’s the sole reason I stumbled upon this recipe and then kept the window open in my browser for 8 days before I decided I could make it.

One Year Ago: Red Wine Spaghetti

Not Italian Asian Bolognese (4 servings, inspired by this recipe)
1 pound ground turkey (extra lean)
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, diced
1 Tbsp Minced Ginger
2 tsp Sesame Oil
3 Tbsp Soy Sauce
2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 1/4 cup crushed tomatoes
1 T Sriracha sauce
sesame seeds for garnish

Combine ground turkey, onion, minced garlic, ginger, sesame oil, soy sauce, and rice vinegar in a large bowl.  Mix thoroughly with your hands.  Preheat a large skillet stovetop and spray with nonstick cooking spray.  Add ground meat mixture and cook, crumbling large pieces of meat with your spatula as the meat cooks.  Add crushed tomatoes and hot sauce and simmer 10 minutes.  Serve as desired, garnishing with sesame seeds and scallions, if desired.

4 servings, per serving
Calories 222.2
Total Fat 10.5 g
Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
Protein 23.8 g

I am submitting this recipe to Presto Pasta Night, hosted by Ruth at Recipes from 4EveryKitchen.  This is my first time submitting to this roundup.  Check it out.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. The Omnivore permalink
    September 29, 2010 6:11 pm

    Looks and sounds great! Like I said in my text, I miss your home-cooked meals….I had tough chicken and overcooked green beans for din.

  2. September 29, 2010 7:26 pm

    This sounds really good – I’ll have to try it!

  3. September 29, 2010 9:13 pm

    I’m going to admit that when I first read the title of your post, I was ready to scroll right past it because, let’s be honest, Asian Bolognese just sounds… weird. After reading your review though, I’m surprisingly curious and going to have to try this!

    Would you mind telling me how you prep the spaghetti squash? I’ve always heard of using it in place of pasta but never tried it so I’m not even remotely sure how to go about making it.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      September 29, 2010 9:24 pm

      Please try it. Like I said, I had to keep it open in my browser for a week before I thought I could handle it. And as soon as I took a bite, I knew I had to remake it for my husband the next time we’re able to eat dinner together. It is so strangely good!

      Onto the spaghetti squash. I roast mine in the oven – the squash is sweeter and more tender that way. I place it (whole on a high-rimmed baking sheet) in a 400* oven for about 10 minutes. This allows the skin/shell to soften enough so that it can be sliced lengthwise. So, after 10 minutes, I remove the squash, slice it lengthwise (some people do this prior to baking but I find that each time I attempt that I nearly amputate my hands), and scoop out the seeds in the cavity.

      After cleaning the squash halves, I place them cut side down on the rimmed baking sheet and then pour enough water onto the baking sheet so that there is about 1/2″ of liquid all around. Then I roast for about 40 minutes or so.

      When the squash is cooked, the interior will be a darker yellow. Drag the tines of a fork along the cooked flesh – stringy pieces of squash will start to come loose. Continue scraping the squash in this manner until all the flesh is removed. There you go, pasta! I mean, squash!

  4. September 30, 2010 12:33 am

    This sounds awesome Branny!!! And love the idea of serving over spaghetti squash! I’m totally making your version next time I make bolognese!!!

  5. foododelmundo permalink
    September 30, 2010 8:02 am

    I absolutely LOVE that you made this dish so much healthier than the ground pork version. AND the spaghetti squash is such a perfect addition, this time of year. So glad you liked it and thank you for the plug!
    ~Mary

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      September 30, 2010 8:19 pm

      And you have great blogger credit now, Mary. Your recipes all look so good!

  6. September 30, 2010 9:35 am

    This looks awesome! Totally on my to-make list!

  7. September 30, 2010 10:34 am

    Well, if you say so! jk. I think I will try this. Either before or after the Moroccan meatball-with-eggs thing. mmm 🙂

  8. October 1, 2010 9:15 am

    Great post and what’s even better… a winning sounding dish of pasta. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights. Hope you plan on playing often.

  9. October 2, 2010 4:19 am

    It looks great. I am sure it tastes great as well. Sometimes experiments lead to big success. It happens to me as well.

  10. October 2, 2010 5:03 pm

    I haven’t used spaghetti squash for awhile, but I like your tip for roasting instead of steaming, which is what my previous method was. And, will have to try this different take on Bolognese with it.

  11. October 3, 2010 9:38 am

    I love finding new food blogs and often use foodgawker and/or tastespotting to find them! This Asian bolognese sounds quite intriguing…I can see why you kept the tab open for days…AND why you made it!

  12. October 3, 2010 10:23 pm

    What an interesting recipe – I’d love to try it!

Leave a Reply

