Skip to content

Pizza with Sweet Potato, Lemon, and Egg

October 3, 2010

I always wanted to be the little girl who kept a diary.  I would try.  And fail.  And then Grandma would get me more blank books for Christmas, so I’d try again.  And fail after two entries.  Then I read Anne Frank’s diary and I tried harder.  And it just never stuck.  I always reconciled myself saying that I won’t forget the stuff that really matters.   (And that’s so not true).

The reason I bring this up is because my mom just showed me one of those failed life-logs.  And it was cute – for two entries.  And then it was my mom’s grocery list for a couple of entries, my brother’s ninja doodles for a few pages, and then remained endlessly blank.  And before I got a chance to beat myself up, I realized that I’ve been successfully keeping a diary for 18 months!  This blog.

Sure, it revolves around what I eat.  But that’s okay.  I generally mention something along with the recipe that pertains to my life, too.

And if you’re lucky, I mention something about the food other than just the recipe.

The Papavore wasn’t sure this was really pizza since, well, it had no cheese.  Or sauce.  Or a gluteny dough.  And it had an egg on top.

What he was sure of, though, was that one piece was simply not enough for dinner.  That tart and juicy lemon combined with the sweet potatoes in each bite to make an irresistible flavor that neither of us had ever experienced.  The onions and garlic were nearly sweet due to the roasting and the hint of sage complimented it all beautifully.

Yes, this recipe certainly stretches the boundaries of the term pizza.  So call it something else if you must, but please try it or the variation of it linked below.

Pizza with Sweet Potatoes, Garlic, Onion, and Lemon (serves 2, inspired by a recipe seen here)
5 slices of sweet potato (very thin)
4 slices of lemon (very thin)
3 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed
1/2 on a small onion, sliced
2 sage leaves, bruised and torn
1 egg + hot water

your favorite pizza crust
-I made a crust by combining cornmeal and water to form a moist dough.  I pressed the dough onto a greased baking sheet in a circle and baked.  It came out wonderfully crispy and just perfect for this recipe.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.  Spread potatoes, onions, and smashed garlic cloves over baking sheet and place in oven for 7 minutes.  Turn vegetables over after 7 minutes and cook an additional 7 minutes.  Remove vegetables from oven and raise temperature to 400.  Separate out garlic cloves and slice.

Place a raw egg in a bowl of warm water to bring the temperature of the egg up for cooking.

Prepare your favorite pizza crust.  Top with torn sage leaves, then sweet potatoes.  Sprinkle slices of onions, garlic, and lemon on top.  Place in a heated oven and cook for 7 minutes.  Remove pizza from oven and crack the egg on top.  Continue baking pizza for 5-7 minutes or until egg is set to your desired consistency.

And now for the diary part of the blog, right?  The part you’ve been waiting for.  What have I been doing?  Well, I’ve been mudding. 

This is a MudRun sponsored by the US Marine Corps.   It was an over 4 mile run interspersed with over 30 emergency room eliciting obstacles.

And man was it tough.  Tougher than tough.  So tough that I can’t even remember what happened.  And maybe that part of the story shouldn’t actually be shared 🙂 .  I won’t forget the *really* important details, right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 1:02 am

    love everything about this pizza!! what a great combo of flavors!!

  2. October 4, 2010 11:02 am

    This caught my eye when Cate talked about it, but I wasn’t completely sold. Now I am.

    I’m the exact same way with diaries. I always wanted so much to have that record, plus I find the writing to be therapuetic, and yet I could never keep it up. But you’re right, the blog is a great substitute (as are the at-least-daily emails to my sister I’ve been sending for years).

  3. mama permalink
    October 6, 2010 7:09 pm

    you HAVE maintained a really important diary here. i think journaling can be hard because there is no clear reader of the work. with a blog, there is. so are you going to tell everyone else about your mudding? what is your creative response to the mudding? in your mud picture, you are not there.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      October 6, 2010 7:17 pm

      What do you mean “in your mud picture you are not there” ? Is there no photo?

Leave a Reply

