Skip to content

Pumpkin Polenta

October 9, 2010

I am missing the Omnivore dearly.  DEARLY, people.  Who knew being forced to live far apart from each other could make you fall back into love so easily?  And what’s worse is that we are both so busy that we hardly find the time or space to speak to one another in a day.  Good thing we’ve both cleared our schedules from 6:15 to 7:15 on a daily basis.  That’s my daily commute from work and the most opportune time for each of us to discuss the goings-on in our respective lives.

Me: Hi honey!  How’s the cat?
The Omnivore: He’s good.  Don’t you want to hear about my busy day?
Me: Yes, I do.  Is the cat sleeping?  Did he eat his breakfast?  He’s soooo tired.  Goobity Gobblety Goo.

Eventually we do make it to more pressing matters of conversation.  Since I’m hiking home after a hunger-inducing day of work, dinner is usually on my mind.  So I quiz the Omnivore on what he’s managing to scrounge up for good eats and he asks me what I’m planning on cooking.  And then he can sulk in jealousy.

When he asked me, however, about this meal, his Domino’s Delivery sounded 10,000x better (to him).  Nope, sauteed mushrooms and black beans over pumpkin polenta just doesn’t wet his whistle.

You see, he’s not one for mushrooms.  And he doesn’t admire pumpkin the way I do (except in the chili).  So had I been cooking this meal for the two of us at home (oh how I long to get back to those days!), he’d had taken a definite pass. Which would have meant, of course, more for me!

The pumpkin polenta was just the perfect consistency and foundation for the black bean topping.  It was warm and autumny without overpowering the taste of the cornmeal itself.  I strongly encourage you to try this as a quick weeknight starch.

One Year Ago: Maple Dijon Brussels Sprouts

Pumpkin Polenta (idea from the Queen of Pumpkin Herself)
1.5 cups pumpkin puree
2 cups water
1 cup cornmeal
pinch cinnamon
pinch salt

Bring water and pumpkin puree to a low boil.  Turn heat down and WISK! in cornmeal, working slowly to ensure that the polenta does not clump.  Once the cornmeal has been incorporated, simmer over LOW heat for about 2-3 minutes.  Add spices and remove from heat.  Let sit for about 3 minutes before serving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 1:51 pm

    Glad to see I’ve still got the title 🙂 Your hubs is totally missing out!

  2. October 14, 2010 11:19 am

    Ugh, I hate being in a long-distance relationship! My husband and I did that for years (before we were married), and it sucks. I had a million things I’d want to tell him during the day, so we would make it a point to talk on the phone every evening, but by then, we were both so worn out that we could hardly bother to carry on a conversation. And yes, I did a lot of asking him what he’d eaten too. 🙂

    I love the combination of pumpkin and mushrooms! I bet it’s a great compliment with the corn and black beans.

Leave a Reply

