Skip to content

Kidney Bean Curry

October 22, 2010

I think my coworkers are making fun of me.  Every day for lunch they say, “What are you eating today, Branny, BEANS?”  Yes.  The way they say the word “beans” is bold, italicized, capitalized, and underlined.  I like to think that they are simply saying it that way because they know that their guess is correct rather than making fun of my choice of protein.

But since I’m eating meals as delicious as this one, they’re probably just jealous.  And it isn’t that I won’t share.  I would.  But they just wouldn’t take me up on the offer.  That’s okay.  More for me.

One Year Ago: Turkish Carrots and Lentils

Kidney Bean Curry (adapted from SK)
2 T chopped fresh ginger
1 medium onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 large green chili, chopped (optional)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
15 ounces canned tomatoes
1/2 cup water
15 ounces kidney beans (drained if using canned)
chopped fresh cilantro
plain yogurt

In a large soup pot, saute onion and bell pepper with cooking spray.  Once tender, add minced garlic, ginger, and spices.  Cook 2-3 minutes.  Add canned tomatoes, water, and kidney beans.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to a gentle simmer and cook 30 minutes until thickened.  Garnish with cilantro and a dollop of yogurt.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

