Skip to content

Boiled and Broiled Brussels Sprouts

October 26, 2010

It’s time to start test-driving recipes for Thanksgiving.  Not that I’m hosting Thanksgiving or anything.  But I daydream about it and dog-ear pages in cookbooks (not really, I treat my books really nicely actually) that I’d like to make for the big event.

I’ve chosen my turkey (brined in Apple Cider), my potatoes, and my green vegetable.  This is my green vegetable:

because Campbell’s Green Bean Casserole doesn’t count.  Those beans aren’t really…green.  Wait.  Does that make it sound like I’ll be serving the green bean casserole along with my mini-cabbages?  Because I’m not.  For the record.

One Year Ago: Carrot Cumin Chickpea Burgers

Boiled then Broiled Brussels Sprouts
1 lb Brussels sprouts
3 T whole wheat bread crumbs
1 T smart balance buttery spread
1/4 tsp garlic powder
salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 350*.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add cleaned, whole Brussels sprouts and boil 6 minutes.  Drain water from pot and rinse veggies in cold water.  When Brussels sprouts can be handled, slice each lengthwise.  Place in a baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray, cut side up. Sprinkle with garlic powder, salt, and pepper.

Melt butter and add bread crumbs to the melted butter.  With your fingers, sprinkle buttered crumbs over Brussels sprouts.  Place baking dish in the oven for 20 minutes.  After 20 minutes, turn on broiler and broil for 5 minutes.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 9:22 am

    I have to make this! Chris LOVES Brussels sprouts! I like them too, but not with as much enthusiasm as Chris does. This recipe looks great!

  2. October 27, 2010 2:11 pm

    That looks/sounds fantastic! I love brussel sprouts, but my husband HATES them – I might have to make this anyway 😉

  3. October 28, 2010 8:33 pm

    mmm, I love brussels sprouts, and these look so delicious. Can’t go wrong with a buttery crumb topping (or my favorite thing ever, the broiler :))

  4. November 1, 2010 3:08 pm

    I don’t host Thanksgiving, either, but I usually do bring something along. This looks like it was made for a Thanksgiving table!!

  5. November 1, 2010 7:47 pm

    Thanks! I’ve been craving sprouts this week and wanted a (new) recipe before I went out and bought a bunch.

  6. November 1, 2010 11:40 pm

    My hubby loves Brussels sprouts so I’ll have to make these – such a perfect Thanksgiving dish!

  7. November 11, 2010 10:35 am

    These look so good 🙂 We love Brussel’s sprouts in my house!

Leave a Reply

