Skip to content

Cappuccino Biscotti

November 2, 2010

The Papavore has been so very generous to me during the process of my relocation from out of state.  He’s allowed me to live rent-free, use his car for transportation, and he babysat my dog during my long days at work.  Of course, I said thank you very often, but sometimes (often) actions speak louder than words.

One day I came home from a used book store with a new cookbook (naturally) and although I generally focus on main dish recipes, my book happened to be flipped open to the cookies section.  And it only took a mere mention from my dad that he might enjoy a whole wheat biscotti with his morning coffee to get me off and baking.

The recipe called for all purpose flour but I substituted that ingredient with whole wheat flour.  The flavor of this recipe was outstanding – perfectly coffee flavored and tender.  It was sturdy enough for a dunk into a hot cup of joe but not so dry that dipping is necessary.  They’d be a great addition to holiday baking packages!

One Year Ago: Sweet Potato Curry

Cappuccino Biscotti (adapted from The How-to Book of Healthy Cooking)
Vegetable oil cooking spray
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (I used ww pastry flour; you may use AP flour)
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/4 cup instant coffee granules
2 large eggs
2 large egg whites
1 T canola oil
2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350*.

Whisk together flour, sugar, instant coffee granules in a large bowl.  Beat eggs and egg whites in a separate bowl.  Add vanilla and oil to beaten eggs.  Add liquid ingredient to the dry ingredients and using a stiff wooden spoon, mix thoroughly until a cohesive dough is formed.

Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and dust with flour.  Shape cookie dough into a log, 3″ wide and 12″ long.  Place onto the prepared baking sheet.  Using a silicone basting brush, top the cookie log with a small amount of water.  Bake for 30 minutes.

Remove baking sheet from oven; the top should have a cracked appearance.  Let cool slightly, and then slice cookie log into biscotti cookies.  Each cookie will be 3″ long and 1/4″ – 1/2″ thick.  Place each cookie onto the baking sheet (you may need an additional pan) and cook for a second time.  Allow cookies to bake or 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 7:34 pm

    These are perfect for Christmas gifts. I envision them dipped in dark chocolate… Thanks for sharing. I’m glad your dad enjoyed them!

  2. November 3, 2010 9:17 am

    Those look great! I think it is that time of year again. Is it just me, or does biscotti seem more like a cold weather food?

  3. November 13, 2010 5:16 pm

    What a great idea. I’m going to try and make things for my coworkers, they’d love ’em!

  4. November 24, 2010 6:24 pm

    Oh my gosh, yum. I love coffee. I love biscotti. I love coffee with biscotti. WIN!

Leave a Reply

