Skip to content

Where are you, Christmas?

December 1, 2010

Where are you, Christmas Branny?

You might have noticed that I’ve been posting far less frequently than usual.  If you haven’t been visiting my blog, you might have noticed that I’ve been commenting on yours much less frequency.  You might not have noticed anything at all.

It is true; this happens in the food blogging world a lot.  Bloggers take leaves of absence.  Being that the population of food bloggers is largely female and of the reproductive age, you might suspect that a bun-in-the-oven is the culprit.  But, no, the Omnivore and I are SINKs.

You might know people like us as DINKs. I prefer SINKs for a couple of reasons.  Let me remind you that “S” stands for single.

The first and most obvious choice for SINK rather than DINK is the kitchen reference.  The second and more appropriate reasoning for my choice of SINK is that while both the ‘Vore and I are gainfully employed in a full-time capacity, our incomes are vastly different.

The Omnivore and I discuss math a lot.  The number of books in our house on the subject of pure math surely rivals the number of cookbooks on our bookshelves.  So you may or may not be aware of the concept of infinity, but we surely are very familiar with it.  So let me get to the heart of the matter:

Infinity + 1 = infinity.  So consider the Omnivore’s salary to be infinity (which it is NOT) and mine to be 1 (which it IS).  Thus, my income is basically nothing compared to the Omnivore’s.  Therefore, we are SINKs. Single income.  No kids.

So why were we talking about that anyway?  Oh, right, we (I?) aren’t pregnant.  But I feel like we’ve had a baby.

Nine months ago we spied this little house on a hill:

Note: it is best when describing small, humble homes to qualify them with cutesy comments like “on a hill” and focus on big red barns in the pictures rather than the house itself.

The house overlooks a lake from above…

and you might have noticed the big red barn in the picture above.  That is the real reason for our purchase.  We’ve got a 12 horse stable, acres of pastures, and two horse arenas as well.

You might be thinking, “Wow, Branny, I’ve never seen you mention horses.  I didn’t know you were such a horsewoman.”

Well, I’m not.  I’ve got a lot to learn.  It’s like a new mother giving birth to her first child.  You feel lost, without information, and unsure of where to begin learning.  We are all of those things.

9 months ago we put a contract in to purchase this horse farm and I have just moved into our new home.  The labor and delivery part of this “pregnancy” has been particularly trying.  Since October 22nd, I was living in the barn, not the home, on our property.  Well, not the barn-barn, but an apartment portion of the barn.  There was no television, no radio signal through the metal walls, no internet, NO KITCHEN, and no bed.  Wow.  It was a trial.  I will look back in 20 years and laugh still cry.

But now I’m back.  And I’ve got a burning desire to get cooking and so expect more from me!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 12:36 pm

    Yay!

  2. December 1, 2010 1:15 pm

    Congrats Branny! What a great property!

    How awesome that it is all fenced already! We really want fencing, but our budget indicates that it will be a while before that is a reality.

    I can’t wait to read about all of your adventures at your new house!

  3. mama permalink
    December 1, 2010 1:18 pm

    you are a strong woman, branny, and you proved it last month!

  4. December 1, 2010 2:25 pm

    That place looks amazing!! Congrats!! I love the view down to the water! Very nice!

  5. December 1, 2010 2:38 pm

    wow it looks amazing! congrats!!

  6. arabelladesiderium permalink
    December 1, 2010 2:49 pm

    Good to have you back, I’ve been missing your recipes 🙂

    Good luck!

  7. December 1, 2010 5:09 pm

    Congratulations on your new home! The property is beautiful. I can’t wait to hear about all the wonderful things you do with the barn.

  8. December 2, 2010 7:28 am

    Congrats! I’m glad you’re back. Good luck with the new home.

  9. jennifer "pittieboo" permalink
    December 9, 2010 1:35 am

    Ooooh branny it’s so pretty! Reminds me of Chevy Chase and Funny Farm 🙂

  10. December 25, 2010 4:18 pm

    you are a strong woman, branny, and you proved it last month!

  11. December 29, 2010 9:05 am

    That place looks amazing!! Congrats!! I love the view down to the water! Very nice!

Leave a Reply

