Skip to content

Charity Souper Bowl

December 29, 2010

It’s that time of the year again.  Just a few days after Christmas and a few nights before New Year’s.  No wonder most New Year’s resolutions are focused on healthy lifestyle.  We’re all fed up with sucking in our guts after a Christmas sugar binge and eating healthily is the only thing on our minds.

The only thing, of course, other than our pets.  The Omnivore and I just returned from a 1400 mile road trip and I swear, not 2 miles into the trip, we were telling each other stories about our pets.  Stories that of course we’d both witnessed, heard, and retold time and time again.  But these knuckleheads really mean the world to us.  And that’s why the Omnivore and I have decided to make our New Year’s Resolution pet related.

We’d like to give more money to pet related charities.  But we need your money help.  So here’s the deal.  I am holding a charity Souper Bowl event here on BrannyBoilsOver.  The event will debut on February 6th, the date of the football SuperBowl.  Your job is to blog a soup recipe and submit it to me for the recipe round up in February.  For every entry I receive, I’ll donate $1 to the ASPCA. Please don’t make me write a check for $13.  Participate!

So here are the details.

If you are a blogger
Blog a soup recipe sometime before January 30th.
Mention the Charity Souper Bowl in your blog post AND dedicate the post to a special animal.
Email me the link to your blogpost before January 30th.

If you are NOT a blogger
Make, eat, and photograph a soup recipe.  Email me the photo AND the recipe along with the name of the animal you choose to dedicate your donation to to brannyboilsover@gmail.com.  This all must be done before January 30th.

Okay, people, the ball is in your court.  Get cookin’ so I can get donatin’!

51 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 8:49 am

    LOVE this idea! I’ll definately be participating!

  2. December 29, 2010 9:12 am

    What a great idea. I will absolutely be participating, along with making a donation myself. Thanks for doing this!

  3. December 29, 2010 10:55 am

    What a great idea! I have two recipes in mind already!

  4. December 29, 2010 11:40 am

    AWESOME idea! I will definitely be participating!

  5. December 29, 2010 11:46 am

    This is such a great idea! Can’t wait to make some soup!!

  6. innasinventions permalink
    December 29, 2010 11:58 am

    What a wonderful and thoughtful idea! I will definitely be making some soup next month!

  7. December 29, 2010 12:23 pm

    Love it! I’m in!

  8. December 29, 2010 2:42 pm

    I love this idea, Branny! I’ve got so many ideas already! If I submit more than one recipe, will you donate a dollar per submission?

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      December 29, 2010 5:41 pm

      Sure, Kelsey!

  9. December 29, 2010 6:23 pm

    Great idea!! I’ll be sending you an entry!

  10. January 3, 2011 10:16 pm

    Here’s my first entry: leek and potato soup. I’ll be making a few more this month and I’ll donate to the ASPCA at the end of the month as well. I love this idea almost as much as I love my fur babies!

    http://stephaniescooking.blogspot.com/2011/01/leek-and-potato-soup.html

  11. January 3, 2011 10:16 pm

    loving these pics. here is my entry – anything for the ASPCA!

    http://www.cooking4carnivores.com/2010/12/soupy-seconds.html

  12. January 5, 2011 12:10 pm

    Mine is set to blog on Monday!

  13. January 9, 2011 5:34 pm

    Ok here is another soup idea – http://www.cooking4carnivores.com/2011/01/super-bowl.html.
    I will add a link back to you later, I promise! Feeding the babes & can’t edit from my phone. Yay ASPCA!!

  14. January 14, 2011 2:03 pm

    Ooo, I’m in. I must’ve breezed by this post after I got back from traveling. I’ll have a post up this coming week!

  15. A. Rivera permalink
    January 23, 2011 3:33 pm

    Here’s my submission:
    http://ariveraskitchenadventures.blogspot.com/2011/01/creamy-broccoli-chicken-soup.html
    Thanks for doing this Branny!

  16. January 24, 2011 7:44 pm

    What a nice idea! I’m a new reader. Here is the link for my two submissions:

    http://vinointhekitchen.blogspot.com/

  17. January 26, 2011 2:56 pm

    Just submitted my entry – kudos to you for doing this! 🙂

  18. January 26, 2011 4:24 pm

    Alright, Branny. I’ve got my soup made. I’ll send you the link as soon as it posts on Friday morning. Thank you for doing this!

  19. January 26, 2011 8:42 pm

    I am not submitting an entry, but i did let people on my blog know about this.

    Thanks for doing this.

    JP

  20. January 29, 2011 11:36 pm

    Here’s my entry dedicated to my little one who’s been injured this week. 😦 http://blackcatkitchen.com/2011/01/super-simple-black-bean-soup/

  21. January 30, 2011 5:07 pm

    Hi Branny,
    Here’s another entry from me:
    http://ariveraskitchenadventures.blogspot.com/2011/01/tomato-florentine-soup.html
    Thanks again for doing this!
    A.

  22. January 31, 2011 1:28 am

    Darn I just saw this today and it’s 10:27 p.m. on the 30th! I’ll have to do my own donation and check back for all the fun recipes you receive 🙂

  23. February 1, 2011 6:40 pm

    Even though I know your submission deadline is over, I think this is a wonderful, wonderful idea. I have three animals myself (Scout, Jinxie, and Cosmo), and they are my world. What a great idea! I will definitely participate in something like this in the future!

    Shanon 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Zuppa Toscana (Vegetarian) | Innochka's Kitchen
  2. Our Share of the Harvest » Cheesy Butternut Squash Soup
  3. Pasta and Bean Soup « Kate's Recipe Box
  4. Our Share of the Harvest » Tomato Fennel Soup (with Shrimp)
  5. Beer Cheese Soup for the Charity Souper Bowl. | The Jey of Cooking.
  6. Participate in the Souperbowl, proceeds go to the ASPCA! |
  7. Our Share of the Harvest » Curried Lentil Soup
  8. Poblano Shrimp Corn Chowder (freezable) | Weekday Gourmet
  9. Creamy Tomato Basil Soup « Kate's Recipe Box
  10. Lemongrass Chicken Soup
  11. Creamless Creamy Tomato Soup – Cook Like a Champion
  12. Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili (Soup) | Made in Melissa's Kitchen
  13. Tortellini Soup
  14. Stuffed Pepper Soup « Cooking with Chrissy
  15. The One With the Souper Bowl Challenge «
  16. Super simple black bean soup |
  17. Heart-Smart Granola Bar “Cookies” for the Cause. | The Jey of Cooking.

Leave a Reply

