Skip to content

Curried Split Pea Soup

December 31, 2010

I remember the very first time I ate a hamburger from a fast food joint.  I was 15 years old and it was a Whopper Jr (hold the pickles and slice it in half, thank you very much) and I was driving down the interstate with my mom in her lovely green Volvo.

You can ask my mom: I wasn’t like most kids when I was a youngster.  Exhibit A is the hamburger tendencies aforementioned.  Exhibit B is my love for split pea soup as a young girl.  Most kids detest green vegetables but I distinctly remember adoring split pea soup, even if it came from a Campbell’s soup can.  Even better when it was born out of an old ham bone (but not old in a nasty way).

Even though I loved this soup as a kid, my tastes have matured.  I like curry powder in my pea soup these days.  And a little texture from carrot chunks and not-quite-pureed soup is good, too.  I find the meaty additions in most pea soup unnecessary.  But I still go 15 years between fast food hamburgers.

One Year Ago: Russian Style Mac and Cheese

and don’t forget about the Souper Bowl!

Curried Split Pea Soup (adapted from Alton Brown)
2 carrots, cut into half moons
1 cup chopped onion
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
12 ounces dried green or yellow split peas, picked over and rinsed
5 cups vegetable broth
1 tablespoon curry powder

Spray the bottom of a large soup pot with cooking spray and add the onion and a generous pinch of salt. Sweat for 2 to 3 minutes. Add the garlic and continue to sweat for an additional 1 to 2 minutes, making certain not to allow onions or garlic to brown.

Add the peas, chicken broth and curry powder. Increase heat to high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook at a simmer until the peas are tender and not holding their shape any longer, approximately 45 to 50 minutes. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed. Using care and a stick blender, puree the soup until the desired consistency.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 7:41 am

    What a beautiful soup – I love split pea soup too, but I’ve never had it with curry before – great addition!

  2. Whitney permalink
    December 31, 2010 10:39 am

    I love split pea soup, myself. This looks even better. I would like to try this.

  3. January 2, 2011 4:25 pm

    This is such a fantastic idea for split pea soup!

  4. January 2, 2011 9:11 pm

    I love split pea soup too, although I’m sure I wouldn’t have touched it as a kid… 🙂 My hubby actually always makes it for us, so I’ll have to tell him about your idea to add curry powder – sounds awesome!

  5. January 3, 2011 9:47 pm

    I liked my burgers burnt, more evidence my mom points to that I was a vegetarian early on. This looks yummy!

  6. mama permalink
    January 5, 2011 4:26 pm

    boston has changed. she won’t eat burgers while riding anymore. too bad she waited so long. you would have gotten a hamburger way before 15.

Leave a Reply

